Humans logo

God Punish You!

Misunderstanding act of men.

By Dotun FamutiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

It was a rainy day and I had to travel from Ibadan to Lagos, Nigeria for a compulsory appointment.

Normally I don’t like driving a long distance like that when it’s raining but I couldn’t help this one.

When I got to the toll gate side, towards the exit of Ibadan to Lagos, I decided to refill my car tank at one of the Bovaz gas stations.

As I parked, a flashy, tinted, wine colour 2019 AMG Benz pulled up at my far left side to also buy fuel. I couldn’t even concentrate to see who was driving the beautiful car. I was just in awe of my own fantasy and admirations for the car as normally as anyone who desires good things should do, I said a silent prayer in my mind for increase in my hustle so as to upgrade my car too.

I set out of the station and about to hit the road, while checking my left and right for any oncoming vehicles, suddenly this Benz came up to my side with unwelcoming speed and splashed the erosion flowing water on my car aggressively.

I was lucky because I didn’t wind down my car glasses, if not, the whole splashed water would have been a big mess on me and my interior, I was so furious but before I could say jack this car already hit the main road and zoomed off.

I felt bad and humiliated, “how could someone do such without any remorse or courtesy to even apologise?” I couldn’t even see who the driver was.

“What was the driver’s intentions? Is he a person that knows me? Is it a deliberate action or just a mistake?” I was asking myself series of questions without anyone to provide answers... Well I shrugged it off while I hit the main road for my journey.

At this point the rain had increased its momentum and I had to slow down my speed and trying to enjoy the trip as much as I can, behind the wheel of my 2012 Toyota Corolla model. I lowered the AC and my sound system also in lower volume enjoying the music of Baba Fela. “...🎼when trouble sleeps yanga come wake am, na wetin e dey find o, palava, e dey find, palava e go get o🎼...” (singing in Nigeria Pidgin language)

The weather was very cold and cloudy, I was driving with moderate speed, scheming the road and enjoying the journey through the wet road with all carefulness.

As I was approaching Mowe, a nearby city, the rain started heavily again, suddenly I spotted a wine coloured Benz with a flashing double danger light, immediately my consciousness alerted me this was the rude guy who splashed water on my car but he had gone so far before me, what had stopped him? Who delayed him?

I told myself this is an opportunity for me to see who the wicked fella was. I drove towards the direction where the car was parked. It was raining heavily.

As I came closer, I already saw he was having serious challenges with his two front tyres. They were already deflated! I was shocked! Why was this so? This beautiful car! I felt sorry for him and I was willing to help out but the rain was not friendly, I pulled up behind the car, took out my umbrella, stepped out of my car. I came close, knocked on his glass. He rolled down! Guess who I saw?

A short, dark man with a hunchback, He was so scared to see me. “Hello sir! How can I help you?” He said with a shaking voice. “Calm down sir, I saw you need helping hands” I replied calmly. “I was the man you splashed water on at Ibadan while you were leaving bovaz gas station.” I added.

He was shocked the more. “I am so sorry sir, It wasn’t intentional. I couldn’t see my front properly and I had wanted to stop and apologise but I didn’t know why I couldn’t stop. So sorry sir!” He humbly apologised.

“It’s ok sir” I replied. “How come you have two deflated tyres at the same time?” I asked while looking at the tyres.

He explained how at Sagamu junction, he mistakenly ran on the nails-tagged-wood the agberos (street touts) used to place on the road to stop their union vehicles as he was trying to dodge a pot-hole.

In my mind I concluded this man obviously must be a myopia patient (short sighted) person.

I offered to help, he was happy and grateful of my gestures but told me he had already sent for someone that would be coming with extra two tyres.

He shook my hands, we exchanged contacts while I went back into my car and drove off. And we became good friends from there till date.

The moral lesson here is:

It’s not how far and beautiful someone you started a race of life with might have gone before you, it is how well you finish the race. Some start the race so slow but steadily winning and getting to their destinations, while some start it with full speed but couldn’t get to their destinations. The end, they say, justifies the means.

Also someone you never thought you would meet again or someone you so underrated may appear today to be the helping hands you have been praying for.

Do not conclude the personality of a person you have not had direct contact with. Do not judge a book by his cover. I once thought he was a wicked man who purposely aimed to intimidate me but when I had to meet him all those wrong perspectives I had of him changed.

What are the other learning curves you can spot out?

This is based on true life story.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Dotun Famuti

I am a writer with perspectives on life events and occurrences. While I am also a music producer. Thereby my writing skills is energised and embedded with positivities and touch of realities.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.