Humans logo

From Abroad To The Heart

My Journey Of Helping The Less Fortunate And Finding Fulfillment

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
2
Living A Life With Hope Is One Worth Living (Photo by Freddie's Lost Treasures)

As I stepped off the plane and onto the tarmac in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, I was filled with a sense of excitement and anticipation. I had always wanted to travel here and make a difference in the lives of those less fortunate, and now I was finally getting my chance.

Over the next few months, I immersed myself in the local culture and worked tirelessly to help those in need. I spent my days making meals for the hungry, giving haircuts to the homeless, providing medicine to the sick, and helping children gain access to education.

The experience was both humbling and fulfilling. Seeing the smiles on the faces of those I helped filled my heart with joy and satisfaction. I knew that I was making a real difference in their lives.

Of course, my travels didn't end there. As I traveled to other countries around the world, I continued to help those in need. From Africa to Asia, from Europe to South America, I saw firsthand the struggles that so many people face every day. Here's the thing, I also saw hope. In every country I visited, there were people working tirelessly to make a difference. From small acts of kindness to large-scale projects, there were countless examples of people coming together to help their fellow human beings, such as: The Kingdom of Wonder that is Cambodia.

In Cambodia, I had the opportunity to work with several organizations that were dedicated to helping the less fortunate, in addition to plying my trade as an Educational Consultant and International School Director. One of the most impactful experiences I had was working with a group that provided meals to children living in poverty. Every day, we would prepare large pots of rice and vegetables, and then distribute the food to families in need. Seeing the joy on the children's faces as they received a warm meal was truly heartwarming. Many of these children had never had access to regular, nutritious meals before, and it was amazing to see the difference that something as simple as a hot meal could make in their lives.

Another organization I worked with focused on providing access to education for children living in poverty. In Cambodia, many children are unable to attend school due to financial constraints or lack of access to transportation. This organization worked to provide scholarships, school supplies, and transportation to children in need. I also had the opportunity to visit several schools and see firsthand the impact the above organization was having. The children were so excited to be able to attend school and learn new things. It was truly inspiring to see their passion for education and their determination to succeed. It made such an impact on me that I continue to share my goodwill with the Bunong Tribal people in Mondulkiri, Cambodia to this day whenever I have the available time.

In addition to these larger projects, I also spent time volunteering at a local clinic that provided medical care to those in need and learned some basic skills for myself along the way. As you may not be aware, many people in Cambodia do not have access to basic healthcare, so this clinic was doing incredible work to provide medicine and treatment to those who would otherwise go without.I helped with tasks such as organizing medicine, taking patient histories, and assisting with basic medical procedures. It was an eye-opening experience to see the challenges that many people face when it comes to accessing healthcare, and it was incredibly rewarding to be able to help in some small way.

Overall, my time in Cambodia was truly life-changing. The people I met and the experiences I had will stay with me forever. I am so grateful for the opportunity to help those in need and make a difference in their lives, that I built a home, schoolhouse and bought farmland to continue to dedicate my talents to this one-of-a-kind place.

As I reflect on my voyage around the world, I am filled with gratitude for the opportunity to help others. It has been an incredible experience that has changed me in ways I never could have imagined. And while there is still so much work to be done, I know that together we can make a difference in the lives of those less fortunate. My life's adventure abroad has taught me that no matter where we are in the world, we all have the power to make a difference. Whether it's through making meals, giving haircuts, providing medicine or access to education, every act of kindness can have a profound impact on someone's life. And when we come together to help those in need, we can truly change the world for the better.

۞۞۞۞۞

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today.

You now have the opportunity to buy me a cup of coffee by clicking on FREDDIE'S LOST TREASURES below. Our monies collected on Vocal.media help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, please check them out. Also, if you would be so kind, subscribe, give us a heart/like and positive comment. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges on Vocal are greatly appreciated. Help those who are less fortunate and make a difference!

humanitytravelpop culturefriendshipfeatureadvice
2

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.