Humans logo

Friendship in the Skies

A story about how a serendipitous connection inspired the courage to embrace a new journey...

By Etiange DomoaPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
Like
A flower found in Kihei, Maui

Flight A119 from New York City finally landed on the airstrip of the Dallas Fort Worth International Airport. One more flight to go, I thought as I gathered my skateboard and duffel bag, closed up my journal, and waited for other passengers to head out. I was annoyed because I had been sitting next to a lady who I accidentally kept falling asleep on, so when we touched down she immediately called up her friend. She proceeded to tell her (in Spanish) about how I kept falling asleep and touching her, despite the current COVID pandemic we are in.

I guess she had every right to be put off, seeing as I literally practiced no spacial awareness, whatsoever. But hey, I was tired! I had a 14 hour day ahead of me, but she didn't even bother to try to understand. We're flying coach honey, what did you expect? The part that annoyed me the most was, as she was on FaceTime with her friend, she kept trying to catch ME in her video call, to show her friend how I look like... THAT ticked me off. I wanted to stop her right there and say, 'Yo entiendo que esta diciendo, no me gusta y yo no estupida' (I understand what you are saying, I don't like it and I am not stupid). Man, I wish I did so I could have seen the silly look on her face when she realized I understand and speak Spanish.

However, I wasn't going to let that get to me. I'm alone, flying to Maui, Hawaii, off to relocate and begin a whole new chapter of my life... I'm not going to let some petty lady get on my nerves. Not today. Not on my birthday.

Finally it's time for our row to clear out of the plane. Walking down the aisle, I feel my thoughts racing, so many emotions popping up and inducing deep reflection. 'Etiange, you're really doing this. You're out here, on your 23rd birthday, on some Eat Pray Love shit! I love you for that!' My inner voice exclaimed. I had to chuckle to myself. I've made the jump to live somewhere else on my own once (LA) but in that case, I was supported by family and my brother came out to join me a month later because he was worried I wouldn't be able to do it alone. This time, I am wiser, more independent, and REALLY on my own. No one is going to save me if things fail. I was risking it all for a hunch that I felt one Saturday night, when I impulsively bought my ticket to Maui, a place I had never even visited before. I need my spirits to be high, and a positive omen (or ten) from the Universe, letting me know my decision was the right one.

I was walking to the airbus, when I received a call from an unknown number. "Hello?" I responded.

"Hi! My name is Katherine, I'm calling from the Rapid COVID Testing Center here at DFW. Just making sure that you are still on the way to getting tested here before you board your flight?"

"Um...yes okay. I did already take a COVID test 72 hours before I boarded my first flight though. Do I still have to take it again?" I asked hesitantly.

"Yeah... So the rules have changed, Hawaii isn't allowing anyone on the islands without immediate testing results, so you will have to come in and take the test at least 45 minutes before your flight takes off. We're located after Gate D45," Katherine explained.

"Oh okay. Alright, yeah I will be there soon!"

One thing I always keep in mind is how the airport is a black, gaping hole for your wallet. There are always hidden expenses being thrown from left to right. If you didn't eat before your flight and you don't want any of those plastic-wrapped cranberry bits they hand to you as a snack, or you couldn't decide on whether to be minimalistic or bring your whole closet, make sure you've got back up cash in your checking accounts folks. To add on to my anxiety of flying to a remote island alone and paying extra for my bags, I had to ALSO pay for the Rapid COVID test, that I didn't even know I had to take. Triple whammy.

"That'll be $250 for your test today," said the receptionist.

"Umm...I thought this test was free..." I mumbled.

"No I'm sorry, there's a fee for the rapid testing," she sympathized. Do I even have enough left? I thought. I mean I was prepared but they really were forcing me to pay for a test I had already taken... I hoped that my preparation had enough flexibility for this demand. I checked my bank account: $280.00. Just enough for this test and an Uber ride to my new home if I needed to. A positive omen for me! I went on ahead to take my test. After I had been nasally invaded, I went ahead to get ready for my final flight to Maui. I found my gate, D37, and took a seat in the waiting area.

15 minutes later..."Calling Etiange Domoa to Gate D37, Etiange Domoa to Gate D37," the speakers crackled throughout the airport. A rush of minor anxiety flew to my chest as I gathered my skateboard and duffel bag. What could be the problem now? I wondered. I walked up to the service desk where there was a customer service agent and another flyer who threw me a warm smile, enough for my anxious feeling to calm and for me to step out of my own world to smile back. It wasn't one of those quick half smiles that you throw in passing when you want to be nice but don't actually care for a conversation. It was a smile that traveled through the air and landed in my heart.

"Hi, yes I'm Etiange..." I disclosed.

"Yes, it says here on file that you will be traveling with an emotional support pet?" the agent inquired. Ah yes, Emilio, my two year old baby boy who I did not bring with me last minute, because Hawaii has all these heavy restrictions and I didn't have nearly as much time to prepare his paper work as I thought I did. Being reminded that I didn't have my cat with me, a soul who really saved my life when I got him in LA, I felt even more anxious. "Oh...yeah no. He's not traveling with me on this flight anymore..." I responded solemnly.

"Okay then, you are all set! Have a nice flight," responded the agent. As I turned away from the desk, the lady who gave me that lovely smile came up to me and asked, "Do you skate?" as she pointed to the skateboard in my right hand.

"Yes, I do! I just started skating in January because I was working at a skate shop." I shared.

"Wow that's so awesome! You never really see that many girls that 'skate' skate, just long-boarding or penny-boarding. My girls love to skate that's why I got so excited when I saw you and your board!" she exclaimed. Man, I love this energy, I thought. What a friendly lady to meet. She proceeded to pull out her phone and show me a picture of all four of her little girls. "Wow, how beautiful! I'm so glad they love to skate, that's awesome." I marveled.

"So are you traveling alone?" she questioned.

"Yes, are you?"

"Yeah!! I'm traveling for work technically but also vacation. It's feels so weird to be away from my kids but I am so happy I'm heading to this beautiful island! I'm going to be here for a week. How long are you staying?"

"I'm moving here, so far I've got 6 months planned out, then after that we will see." I stated.

"Wow, that's really brave of you! Have you been to the island before?"

"No," I chuckled. "I'm really taking a leap of faith here, but I have a good feeling about it."

"Wow, I am inspired! I wish I could bring my family out here, my husband and I are island kids. I'm Puerto Rican and he's Haitian, we live in Arizona but lately I've been wanting to head back to the island life. I mean five kids in tow may be a lot, but there's no better time to move than now." she chattered. "Let's be friends!"

"Okay! Sounds good to me," I smiled. I felt like a little angel had been sent to me. It was the way friendship was offered in such a pivotal time of my life. The way that I was brought together with this random lady, on a flight to my dream environment, in that very moment. Positive omen number two.

Sections were being called now, as it was time to board the plane. We all filed in line, one by one, as our boarding tickets were scanned and we walked down the bright corridor into our cabin. I walked along the aisles, searching for my seat number. My section was one of the last sections, however there seemed to be almost no one on the plane. My new friend also noticed this too, because she looked towards me from her seat assignment and waved me over to indicate sitting next to her. I asked a flight attendant if it would be okay to move my seat, because it looked like there would be room for the space. She hesitated, but then said yes after checking the flight capacity level.

I took my seat in the row right in front of my new friend, and we started speculating on how there may be enough space for everyone to sit wherever they wanted to. "What was your name?" she finally asked.

"Etiange, and yours?"

"Liz! I think we are about to be able to get our own rows on this flight... a different kind of leg room!" she chuckled.

"I think you're right, it's been 20 minutes of boarding and the back still hasn't filled up. Let's see!" I laughed. Sure enough, 10 minutes later one of our flight attendants announced on the intercom that our flight was at its lowest capacity, so customers could feel free to sit in any row they'd like and spread their legs. A whopping 'woo' filled the cabin as my fellow flyers and I sighed with relief. That was a whole 180 after coming from a flight where we were all packed in like sardines, this had to be positive omen three. And three is my favorite number, so I was sold.

Liz and I spent the next 4 - 5 hours chatting over how we were so excited to be spending time in a place that we've never been to before. She showed me more pictures of her family and I spoke about all the adventures I wanted to have with Emilio. I got to watch a random Indie film that reminded me of the old story I have healed from and left behind. We had enough leg room to lay our legs out on our rows and sleep. That most definitely came in handy because we BOTH happened to get our periods on the same flight... so lots of laying down was necessary.

I felt this unspoken buddy system had been established between us. The jokes shared, the few hours spent getting to know one another, our hopes for what Maui will bring and what's next. She didn't know how much I needed this encounter in this very moment of my life. How much I needed this friendship in the sky. One of my life's most pivotal decisions seemed to be affirmed through the series of events that played out from DFW International to OGG.

The time finally came for the plane to descend on OGG's landing strip. I looked out at the island, watching its beauty close in over head. I was overwhelmed. With joy, anticipation, fear, hesitation, second thoughts, and strong resolve. I began to cry, sobbing from the depths of my heart. Not because I was sad, but because I felt so blessed by the Universe. The way the puzzle pieces flew in for me the second I made the decision to follow my heart. The moment I decided to follow a path that I knew would not make sense to anyone else but myself and those meant to understand. I felt I was finally setting down on my place in the world, my chosen home.

The plane performed a smooth landing on the strip, curving around the roadway up until we reached our gate. Once the plane came to a stop and was latched onto the passageway, it was time for us to leave the plane. Liz and I got up to gather our things. I bowed my head down to brush away the tears. "You okay?" Liz pondered. She picked up on the fact that I was crying quietly to myself.

"Yeah, just feeling all the feels of actually making it here, and being here right now," I breathed.

"I totally hear you girl. I'm sure it's such a huge jump from a huge city to an island, especially a place you've never been to before. You got this girl! Plus, now I have you on Instagram, so if you ever need someone to cheer you on, hit me up!" she consoled.

"Thank you so much, Liz," I gushed. We walked off the plane together to head to baggage claim. Twisting and turning through the winding airplane walkways, I finally came across a large, open floor, where a group of Hawaiian dancers welcomed all the new comers at the center stage. As I waited for my bags to come through the conveyor belt, I thought about all the new things and challenges I would experience. I was finally beginning my new story. Here on Maui, Hawaii.

My bags finally came around the way. I went up to the belt to pick them up, and as I was taking them off the belt, I received a text from my roommate that he was just at the beach, heading over to pick me up soon. I walked over to Liz to wish her well. "You all set Etiange?" she checked in.

"Yeah my roommate is on his way to pick me up now. Thank you so much Liz for being you today. It was so needed," I praised.

"Oh, of course!! Thank you for being you, I hope Maui treats you well and you make it out here. You stay safe okay?" she chirped. We hugged each other tight as we said goodbye, not only to each other, but to the small but powerful moment we shared on the plane. To others, it may have just been a walk in the park, meeting and speaking with others on a plane to a new place. But, for me, meeting Liz and her moment of kindness in opening her heart to me felt like a distant Auntie letting me know it was safe to trust in this decision. Safe to trust that my dream of taking the steps towards making Hawaii my home was coming true. It was a huge part in building the confidence to approach this new chapter with open arms, the same way Liz did for me.

This friendship in the sky, what a serendipitous place to make a friend.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Etiange Domoa

Just a girl who loves to live, and write about it. Hoping to inspire my peers and people who stumble across my page! Happy Reading :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.