Humans logo

Freedom From War, Our Own and Others

How do we get to freedom?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Freedom From War, Our Own and Others
Photo by Hanna Zhyhar on Unsplash

The mail came the other day and as I opened one envelope, it was from someone who I received things from that I had not ordered and didn't expect. There was a check for $1.50 that came with the letter and a request to return the check.

The cause of the request was veterans suffering from PTSD, missing eyesight, and hearing. Last week I was sent a calculator and greeting cards. I was asked if I received them and then asked to donate and the importance of donating.

I won't use the calculator and I probably won't use the cards. They will probably get donated or recycled like other paper products that sit in a drawer for years at a time before I go through that drawer and either toss, give away, or recycle.

My husbands were veterans, my brothers, dad, uncles, cousins, granddads, grandchild, and many other family and friends are/were veterans. Our Native American people have a very large amount of veterans and people who serve in the USA service. Do I appreciate my freedom? Yes, and I appreciate all of the veterans who contribute to my freedom and yours.

I am retired and still working part-time. Limited income. If I had more money, I would donate to every cause that came my way, but I do not and can not.

When my grandson wanted to join the service, I didn't discourage him from going in. I was worried that there would be a war. I am still worried for all of the young people that are the ones to fight and die or be injured for the rest of their life.

I think it is crazy people that start wars. How else can you explain the thousands of people dead and dying? The many people displaced? I understand fighting for freedom and that the Ukrainian people feel this is their only choice. I pray for peace and support peace. And I do understand the fight for freedom.

As a Native American, in the United States, the fight is not on the battleground, it is in the courts and the media now. It is scary for me when we have a crazy leader in this country that is not a friend of the Native Americans. It could be my people going through this kind of slaughter now.

What can I do about the war in Ukraine? Pray for an end to war, freedom for the Ukrainian people. Donate to the cause when I can.

For our veterans, I can clean up the grave markers and graves at the cemetery, where my dad and grandfathers are buried. Celebrate my husband, his brother, and two of mine, friends, and other relatives on veterans day. Thank veterans for their service when the opportunity arises. Stand to respect those Native American soldiers that are honored at a powwow. Dance when it is an honor song for veterans and families of veterans. These are just some of the things we can do. Powwows are open to everyone.

Is freedom just another name for nothing left to lose?

I grew up in the baby boomer generation and I am guessing most of us heard Janis Joplin sing for a number one hit, and Kris Christopherson who I believe wrote and sang ‘Bobby McGee.’ In the song, with inspiration from another, there was freedom when he left the girl, but it destroyed him. That is where freedom’s just another name for nothing left to lose came from.

For my freedom, I gave up a marriage in my early 30's, alcohol, and drugs in my 20's. It was tough and almost destroyed me and at the same time saved my life and my children's life and now my grandchildren's lives! The addictions would have taken a bit longer to destroy me, but it was in the works. Giving it all up was hard and I don't have any regrets. Wow. I believe this. No regrets!

Recovery brought up old trauma and grief work to be done. Healing. That brought another kind of freedom. It wasn't always easy but worth it. I didn't get sober alone, didn't go through a divorce alone, and didn't do the trauma/grief work alone. I have sponsors, counselors/therapists, support groups, sexual assault programs, all to thank for helping.

We all need helpers. The Ukrainian people need support and help where we can give that support.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.