Humans logo

Flight Benefits

Finding the Perfect Pilot

By Patricia BrothersPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Love was something that I never dreamed of. Not that I am against it. I just never thought anyone would notice me like that. Here I am this 5’2 chubby, black girl who is pretty just not noticeable. I worked part time for one of the chain hotels. We had complimentary breakfast and a happy hour that we dubbed the Kick Back. It wasn’t uncommon that we would get plenty of pilots to stay overnight as we were across the highway from the airport. I’d see them come in flocks as I’d called them. Flight after flight. Night after night.

Tonight, I’m working what feels like 24 hours. The breakfast rush was a monster. Sometimes I wonder if there were just random people coming in and eating breakfast because it was free. That’s when I first saw him. I knew he had to be a bit older than me, but that didn’t matter. I wanted to get to know him. I wanted to know everything about him. We made eye contact and wow – it was mesmerizing. And yet. He saw right through me. He said good morning sure enough, but that was it. Me being who I am; I smiled and greeted him like I greeted everyone else.

In my head, there were a million things that I wanted to say. But all I could muster was a cheesy “good morning”. Great. Just great. I begged the universe to let him cross my path again. Instantly I got my wish. From the kitchen I was asked to work the front desk as Sasha called off for the third time leaving us short. I needed the overtime, so it didn’t matter to me. People were checking in and checking out constantly. I barely got a break. Finally, Angela came in and I was never more excited to clock out and go home.

However, Michele had other plans. She asked me to stay and work the Kick Back. More overtime, tomorrow off, and cash tips? Yeah. I can stay. Lord knows I should be going home. But money calls. Plus, I happened to overhear his name earlier and he would be back. A part of me became a bit of a stalker. In between check ins and check outs – I managed to find his Facebook profile, his Instagram tag, and his Twitter account. I was armed with enough information that I would be ready when the second chance came.

I head over to the dining room. My feet are killing me. I can’t let this slip through my fingers again. I made tonight’s Kick Back a bit more special. I just knew he would be there. He had to be. I laid some candles out on the tables. I stacked plastic glasses in a pyramid. I lowered the lights just a bit more. I stocked the wine cabinet so there was no need for me to ever leave and miss my chance to see him. I pulled my hair into a bun, grabbed a new shirt from the office, and freshened up. I decided that if I was going to be noticed, I should wear a hint of makeup. I was ready. This was it.

The Kick Back is from 5PM-8PM and it is now 7:45. No show. I begin cleaning up as the other lushes have gone back up to their rooms for the night. Bummer. I am so heart broken. All I wanted was to meet the man that made my heart flutter. Soon all the candles are put back. The dining area is brighter, and I have put away all the glasses except for the plastic ones. I didn’t notice him standing there. Like, where was my mind that I didn’t notice him staring at me? He leaned against the side wall and smiled. My heart dropped.

“Am I too late?” He donned a smile. I nearly dropped everything in my hand.

Time to insert every bit of flirtation that I have in me. I raised an eyebrow, “I don’t know. Are you?”

“Well, on my check in card, it states that the Kick Back is from 5-8. It is only 7:53.”

Usually, I would tell everyone else once we start cleaning up, we’re closed. But for him? I’d stayed open for 3 more hours.

“While that is true. I am so sorry. All of the real glasses are put away for the night.”

“Does those work?” He points towards my stack of plastic glasses.

“Only for the cheap seats.” He laughs. Is this really working? Am I reading this right? Is he into me?

“Well, tonight. I guess I am in the cheap seats.”

“Oh really?” I busy my hands by wiping the counter to keep from showing how nervous I really am.

“But let’s understand. I don’t do cheap all the time.” His voice is melting my soul.

“Duly noted. That being said. Might I suggest a new wine that we just received in? It is from Bright Cellars and it is rather delicious. It is Mojave Rain Merlot. It is brimming with dark fruit aromas of juicy plum, raspberry, and black cherry. This wine has smooth, velvety tannins and balanced acidity. Dark chocolate in the finish.” I can’t believe I memorized the bottle!

“Wow. I’m impressed. You must be a sommelier.”

“No. Not really. I just read the bottle.” We both laugh. I pour him a glass. “It has been the talk of the night tonight.”

The aroma filled our little space, and it is delightful.

“You know. If you take a picture, it will last longer.” I wink at him and my goodness; WHY DID I JUST SAY THAT?!

He pulls out his cell phone to take a picture, “you know. I think I will.” My mind instantly thought of all the ungodly things that he would do with the picture. I slide him the glass and his hand ever so gently caress mine. I am about to lose it. He still has not taken his eyes off me. Now, I am a bit uncomfortable, but his next words send me over the edge.

“I noticed you this morning.” He noticed me? He noticed me. “Your eyes drew me to you. I crashed the plane twice in simulation because of you.”

“Oh yeah? How so?”

“I could not stop thinking about your hair and those beautiful bedroom eyes. They are the prettiest brown eyes I have ever seen.”

“So, let me guess. You couldn’t focus?” I smirk as I am thinking really, he is full of it at this point. I am also a bit of a pessimistic.

“No. Really. That’s why I am late. I had to pass to be able to fly tomorrow.”

“Oh. Sorry?” I chuckle nervously.

“Don’t be. It was all me. (He takes a sip.) This is really great.” He takes a few more sips. “Have you tried it?”

“Um. No. I’m kind of on the clock.” I point to the emblem on my shirt.

“A sip never hurt anyone. Besides, if you are a lightweight, you can always stay in my room for the night.”

To be honest. I wanted nothing more than to be in his room right now. “No thank you. However, you can take me out when I am not on the clock and I can try it then.”

“I plan to. But really, try it. I know you want to.”

“How do you figure that?”

“You keep biting your lip and it is turning me on right now.”

My mouth opens and a gasp escapes me. “In that case.” He brings the glass to my lips and it was like sipping heaven. I close my eyes to savor the moment and when I open them, he is smiling. The glass is near empty. He’s drinking from the side that I sipped from. I can see my lipstick on the corner. Oh how I need to just clock out and leave before I get into more trouble than I anticipated. Every fiber of my being wants to give into his every whim. His left hand is on the counter. I study for imprints of a ring. There are none. I stalked all his social media, and nothing indicates he’s in a relationship.

I look at my watch and it is 8:15. “Would you like another glass? Technically, I shouldn’t, and I am sure my boss will be rounding the corner soon. So …” Before I can finish, the glass is in front of me and I pour him another. “I need to finish cleaning up, but you are more than welcome to stay.”

He’s a bit short, “I think I will call it a night.” Is that it? Is it over? Did I mess up? What the hell just happened?!

“Ok. Sounds good. If you need anything you know how to reach us.” I smile that same cheesy smile. I feel so defeated inside. I take everything else back into the kitchen. When I return, he is gone, the lobby is empty, and the tip jar has a $50 bill and a card. I pick up the card, and on the back, it reads, “call me when you get home so that I know you made it safely”. I’m still in the game! Yes! I clock out and race to get home. I text him my name and number so that he would expect my call. I get home in record time and thank the heavens no officer was out tonight. The shower felt so good I nearly fell asleep. I really should have, but I called him as instructed.

We talk at length about him leaving tomorrow and when he will return. Then the conversation turns left. He asked me what I was wearing, and I told him honestly “nothing but a towel”. The next thing I know he is facetiming me. Like a crazy person, I answer. That’s when it became very fun. I am such a tease. He laughed and enjoyed every minute of it. He asked me to describe a perfect date to him. I told him that I was easy to please. I don’t ask for much. So, for me, sitting in the park with a small picnic would be nice. A cool breeze and sitting under the trees with a good conversation. And more of Mojave Rain.

Friday comes and he has the entire weekend off. He just needed to be here to pilot the first flight on Monday. He calls me and asks if I was still available and if I could meet him in the park. Of course, I said yes. I slip into the coral dress I purchased last week. I finally had a reason to wear the dress. It fit perfectly. I slip into a pair of matching sandals and head out the door. On the way there, my mind raced. All the things I would say and do. I arrive to the spot he so awkwardly described. It’s funny that I was even able to find it. Secluded. When he saw me, his face turned a bit red. Wait. Did I just do that to him? The power that I was feeling in that moment! The park was empty.

Lo and behold there was the illustrious Mojave Rain. We ate, drank, and was very merry. It was perfect. He leaned in to kissed me. That was all the sign that I needed. I returned the kiss and so much more. It was getting dark, so I exposed him to a few tricks I had up my sleeve. He wanted it and I knew it. The moment he slid his hand up my thigh and under my dress told me everything. I had him. Hook. Line. And sinker. It was so very sinful. I couldn’t have asked for a better moment.

Fast forward – I now have the flight benefits that I always wanted and a handsome man to please me in every way imaginable. Life’s good.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Patricia Brothers

Give me a good murder/mystery or thriller any day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.