Humans logo

Fated chance encounter

Invisible paths

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
4

I was a society reporter for a local newspaper and I was assigned to cover the Madison Ball which was a big thing in the upper society world.

I decided to go as Maria anntonette and with not having anyone special in my life I was hoping just maybe I would chance upon my Prince Charming .

The mansion was fabulous and all the costumes were magnificent at the masquerade ball on the week end before Valentine.

I was standing beside the dance floor enjoying the beautiful atmosphere then a very good looking man came into the room dressed as a gentleman from the 18th century.

He had a mask allowing me only to see his eyes . He looked in my direction and his eyes seem to look deep

Into my very soul as he walked gallantly over to ask me to dance with him.

I said yes. I seem to float on air as he puled me tighter to him. I felt a thrill go though my body leaving me weak with pleasure.

He danced me out onto the balcony overlooking the well managed lawn under a lovely full moon that cast silver beams everywhere. Then a cloud came over the moon and the music stopped at the same time. The electricity between us was overwhelming. We were just about to kiss when a couple came out in deep conversation with each other. It seem to break the enchanted tranced snd he smiled down at me snd took my hand as we went back inside.

He graciously kissed my hand and disappeared. I didn’t see him for the rest of the evening. I was disappointed and when I got home I tried to make sense of what had happen. Who was he and would I ever see him again? I finally went to sleep thinking about his arms around me.

The next day I was in a gift store and I went to pay for the birthday present I got a friend when I realized I left my wallet at home. Keith who lived in the apartment next to mine just happen to come into the shop.He offered to pay for the gift and finally I I agreed for him to pay. He was always there when ever I needed something, and someone I found out, I could talk to about anything. I saw him as a really nice guy who had become a good friend. I felt he had the same understanding and someone I could trust.

I had a interview that afternoon and on my way

I had a flat tire .

The interview was out from the city so I was in a rural area and there was not any other cars in sight .

Then I saw a car coming. At first I was happy then I was worried the driver may not stop. But as soon as the man saw me standing by the road with the hood of my car up, he pulled over to the side of the road

My cell phone ringed. It was Keith he said he was taking a nap and dreamed about me and thought he had better call me to see if I was okay.

I told him what happened and he stayed on the phone.

Then I was so enchanted by the dashing stranger who stop to help me that I forgot Keith my neighbor was on the phone.

There was something familiar about him. He had his shades on so I couldn’t know for sure but there was a certain feeling that came over me as I stood close to him After he changed my tire to another one that I had in my truck. I thanked him and he waged at me ss I drove off.

Keith called me back just to make sure I was ok. He sounded a little upset not like himself at all. I just tossed it off that he was just having a bad day.

My interview took place on a beautiful terrance of a fabulous estate with a lovely lady who was giving a charity dinner at the art museum . We had just finished with the interview and I was just putting my things away when someone walked over to our patio table. To my surprise it was the stranger who had helped me change my tire.

It turns out he was her son I found out as she introduced him to me. took off his shades and he looked directly into my eyes took my hand snd kissed it and I knew he was the same person I danced with at the ball.

my heart skipped a beat! He told her how we met by fixing my tire. She laughed and said there are no such things as coincidence.

She asked him to show me the gardens.

We walked together down the winding path snd I couldn’t believe it. I kept thinking about Keith and wondering why he was so acting so strange.

Finally I told him I had to go and he looked a little disappointed and asked me out to dinner on valentines night. Of course I said yes!

When I got home I rushed inside and showered put on some jeans .Keith came in with the Chinese food which we always did on Thursday night.

I watched him eat then I said is there something you want tell me. You are acting a little strange like not looking me in the eye .

Well he said I met someone snd well I won’t be able to spend so much time with you from now on.

Is that all! Wow I thought you were in Love with me!

What ? Me and you- no way! Then we both laughed and I told him I had met someone too.

That was a special evening for us both. It was the ending and the beginning for both of us.

I knew fate had taken over. When my handsome stranger picked me up on Valentine night. I knew

we were destined to be together.

It was if the whole world disappeared

when he kissed me for the first time on midnight on our ride in the horse and carriage though Central Park.

Several months later we had our wedding and reception at his mom elegant estate . I was happy Keith was there with his warm and pretty girlfriend.

Dancing at our reception together as husband and wife I could hear my mom saying just wait for that one person that lights up your life enough that nothing matter more than being with him.

She said also that there are no coincidence.

She was right snd when his mom echoed it- I knew at that moment that he was the one I had been waiting for all my life.

As though he had read my mind - he looked deep into my eyes and kissed me a very long time.

dating
4

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful story! Loving it!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.