Humans logo

Failure Is Simply The Opportunity To Start Again

Who Told You To Quit

By umer aliPublished about a year ago 8 min read
Like
Failure Is Simply The Opportunity To Start Again
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

"Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently."

Now Let Me Tell You A Short Story

He held up his hand as she reached the far side of the bridge.

"Oh, and it would be great if you could hold your insults to a decent length."

She snarled, but turned and trudged back to him, her work boots making loud clomping noises on the bridge.

He stood, waiting for her, and though she couldn't see him, she knew he was smirking.

She'd show him.

She made it about halfway, then stopped and turned to face him.

With only a slight delay, she kicked off her boots and tossed them at his feet.

He stared down at her with an unreadable expression.

Then a smirk spread across his mouth.

Before she could get out another insult, he snagged her boots, tossed them back at her, and strolled off the bridge without saying another word.

"Son of a-" She stumbled after him, unable to believe he had just ditched her like she was no more than a tumbleweed.

Her mind flashed back to what he'd said about being more careful.

But her pride was in the way, so she found her boots and stomped after him, trailing her fingers over the slats on the bridge and the rough, splintery wood.

"Stubborn man," she muttered, stomping up after him.

He wasn't joking when he said there were creatures out here.

They could be anywhere.

She stepped carefully, hoping she wasn't about to step on a snake or crunch down on a bee.

He crossed the small stream, which was less than a foot deep in places.

He disappeared around a bend in the path, leaving her no choice but to follow.

And follow she did.

Every time she thought he was headed back toward the bridge, he would duck into some heavily overgrown bushes or climb a tree, and before she could get close enough to touch him, he was back on the path, moving away from her.

The acrid smell of sulfur was growing stronger the farther they went, and she couldn't help but wonder if he was stoking a fire.

She wasn't going to be so easy to escape if he was starting one on her.

"How long are you planning to make this impossible chase?"

she asked, lagging behind so she could stay in front of him.

"How long, Echo?"

he challenged, his voice holding a hint of anger.

She stopped in her tracks and glared back at him.

"I don't know.

A couple of hours?

Or a couple of days?"

"A couple of days, eh?

And what will you do during that time?

Sit around?

Eat bonbons?"

"I don't believe you," she answered, her lips turning down.

"Oh, but I do.

You like to play games and you can't stand to lose."

He lifted one brow.

"You also like to see the world as a giant game, and every man in it as just another piece to move around."

She huffed out a breath.

"Yes, I know all that.

But this is my life, and I don't like to play games."

He came up beside her and leaned one arm against a large branch.

"Maybe, once upon a time, I played games, but not anymore.

Not anymore, Echo."

The hairs on the back of her neck prickled, and she shivered.

She didn't like his use of her old nickname for her.

"No.

You like to play games now," she muttered.

"And if you think you're going to pass me up without a fight, you're right."

She narrowed her eyes and studied him.

"You might be handsome and charming," she continued, "but I'm the boss here."

"Hmph.

And I don't believe you."

"I'm going to pretend you didn't just say that."

"You're not pretending.

I heard you loud and clear."

The air turned suddenly cool and she felt a chill creep up her spine.

She spun around and faced the path, but the woods stilled and all was silent.

"What is it?"

she whispered.

"I don't know."

He stared back at her, his chest rising and falling quickly.

She started to step around him, to see what was causing the silence, when a loud rustle of branches and branches over stones resounded behind her.

"Oh, crap," she muttered.

Riley cleared his throat, then turned toward her, his face angry.

"Are you going to come back or do I need to come in after you?"

he asked, his voice turning serious.

She shivered.

"Hurry.

I can't go in there by myself."

But it was too late.

The moment she turned, a large man loomed out of the undergrowth, his strong hands gripping her arms.

"I am so sorry, love," he said.

"You should have never left your post.

I didn't know you had company."

She didn't like his use of the word "love," and she gave her arms a push to loosen his grip.

"What are you talking about?"

she asked suspiciously.

"Did he hurt you?

Did he touch you?"

"Only your arm.

And you weren't in your post," he said, his brow furrowing with concern.

"I didn't see your post."

"My post?"

"You're mine, sweetheart.

I'll find you anywhere you go."

Riley took hold of her arm and tugged her behind him.

"Go!"

he commanded the man.

"But he-" Echo's eyes widened as the man nodded and his gaze narrowed.

He continued past them and Echo could have sworn she heard a muffled grunt.

"He hurt me," she said, her voice trembling.

"Why would he hurt me?"

"I don't know.

He wasn't here when I left," Riley said, turning around to face her.

"But I'm sure he's going to return."

"No," she whispered.

"Please."

The man pulled a long silver dagger from his boot, held it in his hand and snarled at Riley.

"What are you doing?"

Echo asked, afraid to follow the man but wanting to see what was happening.

Riley faced the intruder.

"I'm trying to help."

Riley glanced at her and then they both stepped back, watching the other man.

Echo could tell Riley was still holding back, and she wondered if she should intervene, especially when the man looked up and let out a sound that Echo knew all too well.

"Come and take her, you coward.

Come and take her!"

The man shouted, the sound reverberating off the trees and echoing through the woods.

Riley cocked his head, then turned his attention back to the man.

The man charged forward, his gait hitching as his fingers curled into a fist.

"Stop!"

Riley yelled.

But the man kept coming.

"Please."

Echo grabbed Riley's arm.

"Please don't do this."

Riley took a step forward and then paused.

His gaze met hers and she saw a sudden shift in his eyes.

"Go."

The man lunged forward.

Echo gasped as Riley snapped and flung out an arm, pushing her backward.

The sound of bones breaking filled the air and Echo gasped, unable to catch her breath.

The man's head slumped and his body crumpled to the ground.

Riley bent over him, his body racked with sobs.

Echo took a deep breath and made her way toward Riley, determined to help him.

He had saved her life, after all, and now she could do something to repay him.

She knelt down beside him, as close as she could get without touching him, and reached out to touch his shoulder.

She tensed at the contact, and when he didn't jerk away, she lifted her head to look at him.

Riley closed his eyes and took a deep breath, then relaxed.

He cupped her hand in his and gave it a gentle squeeze.

"Are you all right?"

she asked, afraid to hear the answer.

He opened his eyes and squeezed her hand again.

"I'm fine.

I won't forget you again."

"Then I won't forget you," Echo said, meeting his gaze.

"You can't just quit on me.

You saved me today."

"That man tried to kill us."

Echo placed a hand over her heart.

"I'm sorry I doubted you."

He smiled sadly and squeezed her hand once more.

"Echo, I needed to get away from him.

And I was going to leave you alone if you said you didn't want me to go."

Echo's mouth fell open.

"You wanted to leave me?"

She tried to pull her hand free, but his grip remained firm.

"I was going to leave you.

I could feel it coming on.

That he was going to go after you.

But you'd been so brave, I couldn't leave you there.

And I knew that if he came any closer, he'd be after you again.

I didn't want to let him hurt you again."

Echo still didn't understand what he was getting at.

"You thought he would come after me again?"

"Yes."

He nodded.

"You think you could protect me?"

"I know I could.

I don't think you'd ever be in more danger than you are right now, but I know I could protect you."

His eyes glistened.

"You mean ...

again?"

"Yes."

He nodded.

"You've always known that, haven't you?"

"Yes."

Echo smiled.

"You wouldn't let me go in the first place, and you wouldn't leave me to fight my own battles."

She wrapped her arms around his neck and pressed a kiss to his cheek.

"You've always been my hero."

He hugged her tight.

"And I'm yours."

Her heart pounded in her chest, a frightening mixture of happiness and relief and ... fear.

Would their love be enough to survive the obstacles that lay ahead?

Would it be enough to make it through her transformation?

And if she were human, would Riley even want her?

Would she ever be able to see herself as a lover and not as a friend?

Would he ever want to see her as anything more than a friend?

Tears stung her eyes, and she hugged him again.

"I love you, Riley.

I always have."

"I love you, Echo.

You've always been the only woman for me."

Hence Moral:"Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently."

quoteshumanityhow tofriendshipfact or fictiondatingcelebritiesartadvice
Like

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.