Humans logo

F%cking Good Men

This is hard to find

By Amanda NicolePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
F%cking Good Men
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

I was having a conversation with a friend recently about the fact that when healing from abusive relationships you often confuse good people and bad people. You think that poeple who are nice to you have an ulterior motive and are simply trying to hurt you. Why? Because that's what you fell for, you fell for the nice person, the one who made you feel like you could trust them with everything and anything. The one who treated you so well you thought you were on cloud nine. However this person painted you a blue sky and then went back and it turned it grey. You lived in this persons chess game with the rules changing on the daily. So that's why now when you meet a nice person you automatically push them away by acting absolutley horrendous so that they don't like you. You push them away before giving them a chance to even care about you in the slightest. You act like a child around them so they do in fact think your immature and don't want to associate with you. Sound familiar? If it does keep reading! Do you now feel like a child? Do you now feel abosolutely stupid when talking to people? If so that's because you were probably made to feel or treated like a child by your ex. They made you so broken that you almost relied on them to raise you in a way. They made you feel like you had no voice or autonomy. The battle to get that back is exhausting. It's difficult and probably the most terrifying thing you'll ever do. I can say this because I'm currently in that stage myself. I'm currently in the stage where I'm trying to build myself up and feel confident again. It's exhausting. It's also terrifying because I still have voices in my head telling me I don't deserve to heal and I don't deserve to find actual healthy love. I don't deserve to feel safe with someone. But I f*cking do. I do deserve all of that. At least I think I do. Can anyone relate to this? I hope so! I hope my stories resonate with people. I share my story to educate and hopefully help others. I don't do it for attention or anything like that. I hope that one day I find a good person. A person who isn't going to hurt me and actually cares. I don't know if I will ever find such a person but I hope I do. I hope that anyone whose been through the same things as I have, will find their happy ending as well. I hope that you find someone who values you and loves you for you. No matter what. I can only hope. While it may be difficult to know who's a good person or not. I can only hope that the right person will make it easy for you to know. See in my mind you won't have to question it with the right person, you'll just know. You'll know that you can trust them and you can go to bed feeling safe. You can feel safe introducing them to your family and they won't have concerns either. And you won't have that feeling that it's to good t0 be true. The right person will love you correctly and respect all your boundaries and understand why you have them. They'll not only respect your triggers but make sure not to do them. And they'll do all these things because they not only want to, but because they love you.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.