Humans logo

Explaining My Tattoo

Yes, I realize all the things I could have done to make it "better" but let me be, okay?!

By KaciePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, tattoos, you either love them or you hate them it seems. Some spend hundreds covering every inch of their body in the art of their choice. Others never spend a penny and keep their skin crystal clear. Whichever side you may be on, this article is here to explain to the world the meaning of my one and only tattoo (currently).

For starters I have to explain what my tattoo even is! I won't be sharing any pictures because for some reason it weirds me out showing pictures of my own body online, but I will explain it easily enough. The tattoo is of a quote from my all-time favorite show 'Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood' (subbed not dubbed incase you were wondering). It comes from my all-time favorite character from any piece of fiction, the incredible Roy Mustang. Don't even ask me about how I chose this quote, because I will tell you and you will judge me. Hell, why not just show you my dedication. I went through every single episode of the series and wrote down any line spoken by Roy that might be something cool to permanently etch into my body. Needless to say I spent a lot of time doing this and had numerous different quotes to choose from.

The quote I ended up landing on was, "But I still haven't been checkmated just yet."

The reason I chose this one out of all of Roy Mustang's voice lines is pretty simple: I love it. When I decided in my mind to committing to getting a quote from him on my body I knew I wanted something inspiring. The line is about never giving up, even when it seems there may be nothing left to give. It's not over until it's over. If you haven't been checkmated yet during chess, you still have game to play and moves to make. I think we all have had some struggles during our lifetime and this is a quote we could all relate to. Dealing with anxiety and some bouts of depression this quote really resonated with me. It kind of reminds me of my favorite song 'Welcome to the Black Parade' by My Chemical Romance in the sense that it is all about never surrendering to anyone or anything.

It also shows his intelligence and cunning which is something that I love most about his character. Yes he's powerful and yes he's cute, but throw me a character with all that and a brain that can think through any scheme and I am hooked! But enough about him, let me tell you a bit more about my tattoo.

The font style was my next big decision, but it was also an easy one. I knew exactly what style I wanted going into this. The font style I went with mimics that of a typewriter. I love stories and writing so getting it in the font of a typewriter seemed like an awesome idea and it for sure paid off. It appears as though someone straight up took a typewriter and wrote on my skin. Also, how cool are typewriters to begin with am I right?

The placement of it is right on the inside of the top of my right arm. I felt this was a great place for a quote and it is an easy spot to hide. You can read it only if I want you to read it, and if I end up with a job that says no to tattoos then I can easily conceal it.

Well there you have it, the reasoning behind my one and only tattoo. Think I made the right choices? Would you get something similar? Leave a like or tip, or subscribe to let me know you like the tattoo!

Sincerely from my slightly tattooed body,

Kacie

humanity
1

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.