Humans logo

Everything Is Different

Not just because of Covid...But Something Much Bigger Than That.

By Sabrina CartwrightPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It all started in January 2020, leading up to March 2020... a turn of events that would lead into the greatest challenge of our lives.

Covid-19.

Yes, I know everyone is probably sick of hearing about it but its what changed a lot of what we knew into a different way of doing things.

People working remotely, classes being taught online, wearing masks and staying six feet from each other.

The world that we thought we knew was now different, and we had to adapt to things changing everyday. The higher the numbers rose, the more challenging the world became.

Some people think of it as the worst year ever, some see it as a blessing and some are just floating through existence waiting for the next day.

I'm in the middle.

Before the pandemic started, I was working seven-three five days a week; stuck in the same ol' hustle and bustle pre-covid feeling like my life wasn't going anywhere.

Until covid hit.

I got laid off because at the time I was sick with an unidentified illness (wasn't covid), at first it felt like a death sentence. Being laid off your job that you hate at the start of a world wide pandemic.

But it wasn't.

After receiving my EI/CERB money I began getting more financially stable, I was still struggling to pay bills but I was also able to take a step back and recover mentally from the craziness of the job that I did. Which in perspective is much more important, if you become stressed out from a job you truly hate everyday you become burnt out, and when you become burnt out you become angry, frustrated, tired,

I felt myself having more free time to begin doing things I enjoy, even from the comforts of my own house. I wasn't dragging myself to get through the day like I was before.

I began feeling free.

I started my own small business in the post-production field, and began taking up my passion of writing once again.

Don't get me wrong, whats happening in the world is awful with people dying and what not and the whole situation has broken my heart. But unfortunately it is what it is and in order to heal from whats going on, we need to take a step back and focus on ourselves and our own lives.

But everything just feels so different and overwhelming lately, like a giant change is happening and depending on where we are at in life it could be for the better or the worst.

It's all a matter of perspective.

I've also noticed some of the world has become more angry than it has been in the past, like people breaking out into fights over the whole mask debate, feeling shamed for wearing one and employees giving up on telling customers to wear one as the disrespect and true colours begin to show. I understand wearing a mask can be difficult for some people, but its no reason to be disrespectful to those just doing their jobs and telling you to put it on for the short time you are shopping in their store. Whether or not you believe in mask wearing, that doesn't matter.

No one should disrespect someone for doing their job. It's very frustrating to turn on the social media in the morning and seeing things like this in the news,

"Another casualty takes place over mask debate."

It's insane, and it needs to stop. It blows my mind how so many people think they rule the world and how it runs, and uses that mindset to disrespect.

Stop.

Yes, if you disagree with someones opinion thats fine. Use your voice and state yours, but use it in away thats respectful and it will provide some sort of positive change to this already crazy world.

There's so much more I could say over this whole situation, but I think I will leave it at that for now or we could be here for hours.

Mask up, stay safe and be kind. You don't know what kind of battles people are fighting.

culturehumanity
1

About the Creator

Sabrina Cartwright

Hello friends! I am Sabrina, twenty-seven year old from SSM Ontario. I've been writing for a very long time, I've been on a healing/ spiritual journey for over two years. My goal is to dig myself out of my darkness to make a beautiful life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.