Humans logo

Don't try to change anyone!

Each person has a different way of thinking!

By NgoanbiboPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
4

In dealing with people, if you master this great skill, you will win the hearts of many people, or at least not many people will hate you. But for me, I learned this a long time ago, I've applied it, but sometimes I still make mistakes, I still make it. And the most recent time was just yesterday when I forgot to use this technique.

So what is that great skill??? It's summed up in the words: "Don't try to change other people's minds!"

Don't try to change anyone's thoughts or opinions. When someone thinks they are right, you have no ability, almost no ability, to change them because each person has the right to have their own beliefs, values ​​and opinions. Trying to change another person's mind may be seen as disregarding their autonomy and may lead to conflict or resentment.

Because they have lived with that perspective, with that mindset, with that thought for a long time. You cannot change them with a word or two. And often when people have different opinions, they start to argue, then after debating for a while, they stop giving their opinions.

When people move on, they no longer look for the truth of "right or wrong" in that issue. But people just want to prove the other person wrong, "What you said is wrong", but they don't look for "the right thing" anymore.

People just want to prove what you said is wrong and they started turning to personal attacks. At this step, the debate becomes violent and can lead to huge consequences, like what you see when people who often drink alcohol often raise arguments and attacks. Individuals begin, you are this, you are that, and then conflicts lead to the use of violence against each other.

So you always remember "Don't try to change other people's minds!". When people have different opinions from you, you have 3 options. 1 is “Change topic”. 2 is "Follow them". 3 is "Leave", that's it. You have 3 options. Don't try to change people.

You can't change that, that's for sure.

It happened in real life, I had this happen too. Yesterday, I met a cousin and had an unpleasant conversation. I have also been in business for quite a long time, so I also know some small knowledge about business. So I see my relatives and family doing business. I give my opinion. I feel like I'm about to do it, so I give my opinion. This must be done like this. This must be done like this. What I do is wrong. You have to do it like this, doing it like this is wrong and will fail. And she protested, the fierce debate began,...! When I finally got home, I realized I had violated the above principle.

Of course they won't listen to me, they will even hate me and be angry with me. But they still failed just like what I suggested before, the paths I pointed out but they did not listen to me, on the contrary, they were not grateful to me and they were still angry with me, they always hated me, that's it. It's my mistake when people are enthusiastic, enthusiastic, they are determined to do things, they don't need advice but I give advice, it's my mistake first, I'm wrong in the principles of treating people. position. You should remember not to change others and also not to give advice when others don't need advice. When they need advice they ask you, then you should tell them your advice.

And when you see your friends or relatives doing business, doing business or doing anything you think is wrong, you should just give small, simple reminders, be careful about that, don't do it. Ask deeper, don't go deeper, don't advise deeper, they will hate you, you won't be able to change them, they will hate you, ok!

While it is natural to have beliefs and opinions, it is important to approach interactions with humility, empathy, and respect for the autonomy of others. Instead of trying to change other people's minds, let's focus on promoting understanding, empathy, and constructive dialogue in our relationships and communities.

Thank you, wish you a peaceful and joyful new day, be happy!

advice
4

About the Creator

Ngoanbibo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.