Humans logo

Do I Have To Do A Mammogram?

I believe that a caring heart should be a requirement for anyone wanting to be employed in the health care field.

By Annelise Lords Published 12 months ago 3 min read
1
Image by Annelise Lords

I hate doing mammograms. The first time I did one my small breasts and entire upper body hurts for six weeks. For more than fifteen years, I refused to do it anymore.

My brain is programmed to remember all of the pain life shares. I found ways to keep my pain alive without it hurting me.

That’s how I avoid many people and painful situations in my life.

Having small breasts is good in some ways and not so good in other ways.

I remembered a few years ago, I went bra shopping in my country. I couldn’t find my size after visiting many stores. Frustrated, a young man tried to either compliment or encourage me, “Mam, do you see the size of the artillery these young ladies are walking around with.”

We laughed as I exited the store.

I shopped elsewhere.

I did my annual mammogram yesterday, and it hurt like hell.

Female bodies aren’t one size fits all. So why are these damn machines built that way!

We cater to the body type, size, and shape in all areas of life, don’t you think they would put a little more thought into the female bodies when building certain machines?

I learned something new.

My last three mammograms before yesterday, the female who did it, had small breasts like mine. She was calm, kind, understanding and took the time to calm me down before she did the exam. She was gentle and we had a happy conversation while she did her job. Before I knew it my mammogram was completed, and I felt nothing.

This lady understood herself, life, females, the process, and pain. I looked forward to going back to her.

Yesterday, it was someone else.

I wished I had taken the name of the kind female who did my last three mammograms. I wished I had taken the time to return more of the kindness and gentleness she gave me. I did thank her and let her know how good she was the last three times.

I wished I had thanked her more.

After my painful experience yesterday, I again regretted not being more kinder to the lady who did my mammogram last year. But, I think with kindness so I will give it back to our world.

I wanted to hug her, thanked her again, and let her know how her treatment of me and the other females was a rare valuable gift. I wished I had given her something for her thoughtfulness and love. Buying her lunch would be a good thing.

Life reminded me yesterday to take nothing for granted. Sometimes we get caught up in the problems life shares and forget the tiny moment of generosity that means so much to us.

This lady who did my mammogram yesterday didn’t care. When I complain about how rough she was and how she is hurting me, she said, “Cancer was worse than I.”

And the pain I am in from her rough and insensitive treatment I should thank God I have small breasts. Because other females are walking around with back pain. I pity her life because her thoughtlessness at a vulnerable moment in a female’s life tells me she is a very unhappy soul.

Unhappiness can be contagious.

When humanity is hurting and humans can’t understand their pain, what does that say about their hearts?

How we treat others says a lot about us, our lives, and how we think. I always believe that a caring heart should be a requirement for anyone wanting to be employed in the health care field.

A caring heart is an incentive, not a requirement. It should be the other way around.

It’s amazing the attitude and action of how someone does their job has such a powerful effect on us and our world. If the result is a positive one, we want to make the world a better place. If it’s not, most share the pain of their experience with the world creating a domino effect that can reap deadly results.

My reason for not wanting to do mammograms has returned.

The right words at the right time are nourishment for the body, mind, and soul. Annelise Lords

When we take certain things for granted, life will find ways to remind us to appreciate and know the value of kindness, thoughtfulness, and love. And that is ok with me because I am a fast learner and my brain is also programmed to recall nice. Annelise Lords

Image by Annelise Lords Model by Kin Custom

Image by Annelise Lords Model by Kin Custom

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it.

fact or fictionsciencelovehumanityadvice
1

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.