Humans logo

Diary of an Introvert

We're Not Rude!

By Amanda NicolePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Diary of an Introvert
Photo by Clement Souchet on Unsplash

I'm an Introvert. This doesn't mean I'm rude, or selfish, or a jerk. It just means I don't need as much social interaction as you. I don't need to be around people to be happy. In fact I'd prefer to be alone most of the time.

I'm not anti-social, I just can't do it all the time. I can't respond to your texts all the time, I can't answer emails all the time, and I can't hang out all the time. I have to recharge and I'll get back to you when I have the mental energy to do so. This is not me being an asshole, it's me trying not to be. It's me trying to be the best version of myself possible. And I can't do that with constant socialization. Please understand this. I'm tired of explaining myself to people constantly. Everyone thinks I'm rude or anti-social. But I'm not. I'm simply trying to survive. I have a lot going on in my head and it's hard to have a conversation. I need to pause all that I'm thinking about to talk to you and while I enjoy talking to you, I can't do it for to long. Otherwise my head will feel like it's going to explode.

I need time to process, gather myself and clear my ever racing thoughts. I need to rest from everything I did in a day. Even if it was nothing. I still processed a lot and thought of a lot of things. Please don't take this the wrong way. How long does my social energy meter last? Well it depends on the situation. If it's just one person I can go for an hour or two. If it's more then that maybe 30 minutes? I don't do well with strangers. I never did. I also don't do well with men. I'm still trying to get over trauma. Read my other articles for more information.

Do I want to be your friend? Of course! If we vibe, I'd love to be your friend. As long as you understand that I won't always respond and can't always hang out. BUT I can promise that if you ever need me for anything, please let me know! I'm there for my friends 24/7. I will always be around for you if something terrible is going on. I'm more then happy to help you with things.

Do I hate you? Of course not! I don't hate anyone. I just don't like large groups of people. I never did. I'm not social! I spent most of my 20's pretending to be social and it got exhausting. It wore on me. I needed time to chill. Now I'm much more at peace.

What do I do for work if I'm so introverted? Well I'm a pet sitter, writer and a podcaster. I don't interact with people all the time, and it gives me the flexibility I need to do other stuff. Some weeks are busier then others of course. But I do get plenty of rest most of the time.

I take a while to warm up to people. I don't trust people easily. I need time to learn about you and what you're about. If I don't, I can't trust you. Give me time. I'll come around. But please don't hurt me. Be nice to me and don't yell or do anything like that. I'm not about that and I don't deserve it. I don't need to be yelled at. Give me time to process and prove to me that you're not a waste of time. Thank you

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Nicole

Hey I'm Amanda! I'm a writer, Podcaster and a pet sitter. I'm much more then that! Read my stories to find out :)

https://linktr.ee/gilmorepretty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.