Humans logo

Cut To The Chase

Good Things in Little Boxes

By pamela mayerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5

I’m crafty - always have been. Loved to make cards for every occasion. Cutting colored paper, making envelopes, taking photos and cutting off the heads and putting them on Wonder Woman and Superman bodies. It’s a gift my family would rave when I was a child and surprised them with my talent.

“Give her a scissors, paper, and some colored pencils - she’s ready to go,”my father would burst with Daddy pride. Then the perfect Chanukah gift, pinking shears. Now the edges of everything could have a triangle pointed pattern. Artsy perfect. Creativity on steroids.

“Remember, those new pinking shears that cut the jagged, zigzag they are really only for fabric,” Mom called from downstairs.

“I’m a designer, I design,” I stated, “Besides, too late. This creation is the best ever.”

Years of the best ever piled on for decades. Now I made cards for birthdays, anniversaries, graduation and everything and anything I wanted to celebrate. A snip here, a snip there. Fold and cut the craft paper, hearts cut out of fabric, glue, paste, color, cut.

All through school I charmed everyone with one of my super special greetings. I married, had children and passed on the talent inspired with a scissor, paper, fabric and glue. Magically, I was a Grandma. Hooray, another generation to spread the genius of individuality. Clever, outstanding, charmed they were with my wheeling of my scissor and the coming together of stuff you have around the house.

Now in my 70’s I made a friend, like a sister. This doesn’t happen. This age you make acquaintances not true bonding friendships. Just lucky, it happened. We planned to travel, a hiking trip to Greece. Two widows seeking adventure. We analyzed, checked out maps, groups, and guides.

Covid reality clicked in. Travel canceled. We moved our deposits, changed our air reservations. Repeated this several times over. Finally Greece was sending the world a message that they were soon going to open up. We were ready. Excited. We would meet at JFK airport. She flying from Detroit. I coming in from Miami. In just a few months we would be off on an incredible journey.

Then, she had her annual check-up with her very boutique physician. “Let’s run some routine bloodwork. Can you believe that it’s been been over a couple of years? It’s time.” he wrote out the lab info and past it to her.

No big deal. Until the results came back. “You have only a trace of iron,” he said in his professional doctor voice, “We need to find out what’s going on. Could be anemia. Maybe internal bleeding. No worries,” and gave her an order for an MRI.

The information was gathered. Blockage. Colonoscopy. Finally, surgery scheduled for two weeks. I planned to fly up from Florida. I called myself the deterrent. I would do my best to keep her mind busy. Keep her laughing. I gathered some jokes, checked out Netflix movies. Timely, not perfect it would be her 80th birthday. Six friends had planned lunch. I was to be number seven.

The night before take-off I grabbed my scissor and pinking shears and got to work. She didn’t need anything. What material thing could I give her. I dug deep into my creative spirit. I visited Etsy, Pinterest and then I remembered. I had once made this for my girlfriend 30 years ago. She was going through a rough time and I wanted to let her know I was right beside her all the way.

I gathered my materials. Ribbon, trim, gift wrap, paper, and a small box. The box had to be a special size, to work. It was important. I began to cut, shape, tape. I printed the anonymous poem in an eye appealing, easy reading font. Every part had to be perfect. This was more than a box it was my soul, heart and wishes. I cut yards of ribbon and folded it, took my scissor and curled the kelly green strands with the blade.

It’s a present, not a miracle. This gift couldn’t cure colon cancer. No matter how beautiful, the thoughts so precious. What it could do is share my deepest feelings. This is what it said….

This is a very special gift

That you can never see.

The reason it’s so special is

It’s just for you from me.

Whenever you are lonely

Or are ever feeling blue

You only have to hold this gift

And know I’m hugging you.

You never can unwrap it,

Please leave the ribbon tied.

Hold the box close to your heart

It’s filled with love inside.

Love,

Pam

It was a wonderful celebration. The company was interesting. The conversation was lively. Tumor, cancer, colon, surgery - all forgotten for a few hours.

The surgery a textbook success. Multi hours, two surgeons, all went well. Several weeks past. Today the news was good. The pathology report was favorable. The oncologist is leaning to no chemo. I’m grateful for this and grateful for my friendship.

Now I’ll cut to the chase. I’m not leaving anything to chance. My scissor in hand I produce a four leaf clover, a horseshoe, and a heart out of shiny metallic paper. Good luck charms filled with wishes, hopes, and prayers across the miles as I seal the cutouts in a bright red envelope. Just think, we might make it to Greece after all…one of these days.

friendship
5

About the Creator

pamela mayer

Pamela Mayer does all things creative — theatre, art, and writing. She is certain she will bump into her Prince Charming in the produce section of Trader Joe’s, Miami Beach very soon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.