Humans logo

Crossing The Line [episode 1]

A tale of forbidden desires.

By Okwori Emmanuel OwoichoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
Crossing The Line [episode 1]
Photo by Alexandre Debiève on Unsplash

I had been online all day because I was bored. I was bored because it was weekend and I was indoors without electricity. There had been a power outage for almost four hours and if the battery of my phone wasn’t durable, it would have run down. I had visited several pages on Facebook, but none seemed to interest me. I was about to turn off my data and catch a nap when I saw a post that was gender related, and I commented under the post favouring the male gender.

Two minutes later, I received a notification that someone had commented under my comment. I clicked on the notification and realized that there were lots of females replying to my comment and basically roasting me. Any wise man would know that it was foolish to argue with the other gender, especially on a public platform. So, I decided to ignore them, turned off my data and dozed off.

Two hours later, I was awoken by cries of my neighbour’s child. Vexed, I took my phone and turned on my data. Amongst all the notifications I had received, there was one that caught my attention. It was from one of the ladies who had been replying to my comment. However, this particular lady wasn’t against me, she was instead telling the other ladies to leave me alone. Her name was Faith.

I had met her a few times in real life. She worked at a gas plant, and I had been there a few times to refill my cooking gas cylinder. However, I hadn’t taken any particular note of her. She on the other hand, had taken note of me and was even able to recognize me on Facebook.

The next time I went to refill my gas, I was delighted to meet her. After haven filled my cylinder, she asked:

“Why were those ladies roasting you on Facebook?”
That was the beginning of a new friendship between Faith and me. We chatted almost every night. Most of our conversations were based on making movies. We talked a lot about doing romance movies where I would play the main male character and she would be the female lead character. We imagined falling in love in the story and kissing in the process.

“Hmm, I would love a movie that involves kissing.” I told her and she laughed out loud.

“Are you a good kisser?” She asked.

“As far as I know. But everyone doesn’t appreciate the same. You might find me a bad kisser.”

“How am I going to know that. I have no intentions of kissing you, except in the movie of course.” She laughed and then asked. “What do you think about kissing in general?”

“Well, actually, I am not a huge fan of kissing in general. I find it too intimate, even more intimate than sex. For a start, you can’t use any protection while kissing. Hence, you have to share someone’s saliva, yuck!!” I laughed and continued. “But with sex, at least you can use protection and no bodily fluids will be shared.”

“But sexually transmitted diseases do not usually pass through kissing, right?” She asked.

“You may say so. However, there are some that can be transmitted through kissing. An example is hepatitis B. It’s very dangerous.”
That’s true”

One day, she asked me where I lived, and I gave her the directions to my house. She promised to visit me the next Sunday. I wasn’t anticipating her coming because I didn’t think she would actually show up. However, around 4:00 PM. She rang my phone and told me that she was in my neighbourhood. I went to where she was and brought her home.

“A nice home you have here. You are really classy.” She commended.

“I like nice things. My boss calls me Hollywood.”

“Why?”

“The way I dress, the way I walk, everything.” We both laughed at that. “What do I get for you?”

“A glass of water.”

“Just that?”

“Just that.”

Two hours later, I took her back to the road, where she got a bike and headed home. When she got home, she texted me.

“Thank you for being a good host.”

“Thank you for thanking me.” I replied and she laughed.

“You are so funny.”

“I am a comedian.”

She laughed again.

“You are such a nice guy. Whoever is dating you is very lucky.”

“That’s true.”

“Unfortunately for me, we are just friends. How sad.” She spoke.

“That’s life.”

“Can I ask you a question?”

friendshipsinglelovedating
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Okwori Emmanuel Owoicho (Author)8 months ago

    Please subscribe, like and comment on my story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.