Humans logo

Chloe's Holiday Prompt List

Surprise! A Holiday Prompts list Challenge

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 6 months ago 3 min read
7
Chloe's Holiday Prompt List
Photo by Kieran White on Unsplash

“When we remember a special Christmas, it is not the presents that made it special, but the laughter, the feeling of love, and the togetherness of friends and family that made that Christmas special.”

– Catherine Pulsifer

Happy Holidays everyone!

I'm going a little stir crazy at home waiting for my third baby to be born so I am trying to keep my brain busy and focused forwards. After October's overwhelming challenge, I have decided to give December a try too! I know the holiday season is a little bit busy for everyone but I wanted us to slow things down a little bit and really remember what is important this year.

What is a writing prompt?

My basic definition of a writing prompt, is a statement, question, or thought that helps inspire a piece of writing. No two people will look at the prompt the same way which I think is pretty cool.

This prompts list is a bit different than October's list. I have created ten writing prompts for myself to use over the month of December and I am challenging other writers on Vocal to complete one or all of them. I think the one I'm most excited for is the Christmas Playlist prompt. I actually cannot wait to read about everyone's favourite Christmas songs.

Christmas has always been important to me. Not because of the presents or the food but because of family. It's my grandmother's favourite holiday and always has been. She always made some form of Christmas miracle happen no matter what. And now, with my baby's due date rapidly approaching, I have the best Christmas present ever about to be in my arms. It's hard not to be excited this year.

So all that being said, here is the prompt list! It's different than October's as these are more journal-type prompts rather than keywords or phrases. I couldn't wait to share this list with you all.

I hope that everyone has a safe and a Merry Christmas this year. 🎄

December Writing Prompts List

  1. Write down a list of goals for December.
  2. Do you look forward to the holidays?
  3. What are you most thankful for this Christmas?
  4. What are your earliest memories of Christmas?
  5. What does the perfect Christmas look like to you?
  6. Create a list of ways to take care of yourself during the holiday season.
  7. Write about the best part about being a parent during Christmas.
  8. Create a poem about what a snowflake looks like to you
  9. Create your perfect Christmas playlist.
  10. In what ways did I grow over the past year?

Pick one prompt or join me in completing all ten of them throughout the course of December!

I cannot wait to read everyone's work!

    Rules of this Unofficial Vocal Holiday Challenge

  • Only one entry per participant will be selected in the winner's list.
  • Challenge begins on December 1st, 2023 at 12 am CST.
  • I am not offering a monetary prize.
  • Deadline for entries is January 1st, 2024 at 12 pm CST.
  • Please comment on this post so I can make sure I view all entries.

I will be doing something similar to my October Prompts Challenge and be selecting a few of my favourite entries. I'm hoping to find at least one for every category!

Thank you for reading this prompts list everyone. I'm really looking forward to the holidays this year.

But most importantly, it's okay if you don't find much joy in the holiday season. You're allowed to be a Grinch when it comes to this time of year. Remember, Vocal is your family and family is here to support one another. You are not alone. We are here for you.

I'm hoping everyone has a great end to 2023 and a wonderful start to 2024!

Chloe Rose Violet🌹

lovefriendshipfeaturefamily
7

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 5 months ago

    Love this idea!!

  • Salman siddique6 months ago

    try using some keywords seo optimize it

  • Those are some very cool prompts! I loke the snowflake poem one the most. I'll see if I can write one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.