Humans logo

Best Friends Always

Our friendship is the foundation that fosters humility of empathy.

By Charlene DawkinsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Best Friends Always
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Best Friends

It is mind-blowing of how we became friends. But there are always catastrophes with humiliation, which causes parts to cross. And our parts have crossed each other in many ways. Everything is for a season.

You are ferocious at times. When you feel uneasy in any way, or someone is saying something out of line, the facts have to be right for you. I am the quiet one. It is something I wish for.

Thanks for speaking up for me when I couldn’t alter a word.

Our friendship is the foundation that fosters humility, empathy, kindness, and respect for each other. Our bond has exceeded most of the expectations of what others may think.

Honesty is one of your traits I have fallen in love with over the years. Because of our honesty, I can sensibly reason our situations.

When I glaze in memory lane, the moments of elementary school, the hands games, we will stand facing each other while our hands clap together singing our childhood song. The laughter of our voices would echo through the corridors.

After winning the game of volleyball, we would give each other’s high five. We then sing a song with our school letters. Our school, “Hawksbill High School.”

“Give me a H, you got your H,

Give me a A, you got you’re A”

It would continue until we spell the school name. Those were some great moments we shared. After a long day of school, we would manage to go to the pools and swim until night. You would always laugh at the way I would flop myself in the pool. My hands would spread out like wings on a bird. Thinking about it, it was funny.

It was like yesterday when we had past relationships intersected with deceit and betrayal. You gave me words of comfort. Words that I needed at those trying times. You also know when not to say anything about the relationship. You always said how beautiful I am and how a smile of mine could light up a stadium.

“Girl, he will be calling back, he surely lost a good thing,” you would say.

“Yea, he surely will,” with the tears falling.

We have become each other shadow, some would say. Do you remember every Saturday we would go cycling on long - distance, on our way we would stop to play

some tennis and find a beach and go swimming? Those moments were filled with lots of energy; energy we don’t process now.

I think about the time when I had come from college during the summer. That night we got dress and went to a five-star restaurant. From there, we went to the disco, dancing the night away. With you around, I felt like a disco queen. There is nothing I couldn’t do. Your expectations of me were so high. Whatever word I would use, you would use. You loved me for me. You were there when I received my letter from the college and when I graduated, you were the loudest in the audience. Thanks for that applause.

School would out early some days, and we walked the long road with giggles so loud, with other friends around. The walk was short to us. You made it fun. We tour through the International Bazaar, glancing at the different shops, praying one day we could afford such glamorous clothing, especially me. Despite homely attire, you never looked down at me or judged me. You accepted me for who I was, trapped in that period of my life.

Although I have not seen my friend in years, we are older and now share different dreams, ideas, or likes. My childlike heart still holds the memories we shared and experiences. You made me believe the world is not so scary. My world felt so safe with you when I felt so blue.

Thanks, you are the definition of a friend.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Charlene Dawkins

Charlene Dawkins holds a Bachelor of Arts in Social Studies in Nashville, TN. She teaches at a primary school in the Bahamas, Charlene writes short stories, non-fiction, and poems. Some of her work has been published.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.