Humans logo

Are We Cancelling Kylie Cosmetics?

A question I'm asking myself lately...

By Nicole CPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
https://media.allure.com/photos/60ef573a0f0db478fbf656f1/master/pass/kylie%20cosmetics%20lip%20kits.jpg

Many Tik Tokers are filming themselves binning Kylie Cosmetics in light of the recent drama between the shade thrown at Selena Gomez and the "Eyebrowgate" debacle.

Personally, I am torn. I have been a loyal user of Kylie Cosmetics for the past couple of years, and her lip gloss is genuinely one of my favourites.

Good people worked on these formulas! I feel bad for her staff that will have to endure this wrath and the consequences of her "mean girl" actions with Hailey Bieber.

Some people have commented that Kylie isn't even usually known as the "mean" one out of the Kardashians, it's almost a little out of character for her to behave this way. Whereas others say the "mean girl" signs have been there, and they've presented their own evidence in their discussions.

Personally, I would agree with the ones saying it's out of character for Kylie. From what I have seen, yes, she can joke around, sometimes be a little sarcastic, but not to the extent of bullying or any sinister intentions.

I'd love to give Kylie the benefit of the doubt. From what we can see, it appears, she hasn't said anything else about this drama other than that we (the public) are the ones fabricating this drama and reaching.

https://www.complex.com/pop-culture/kylie-jenner-denies-shading-selena-gomez-eyebrows-post

I've still got some moisturiser, a couple of lip glosses, and eyebrow pencil and a face mask of Kylie's to finish... I'm still not sure if I am cancelling her brand completely.

This week, however, I needed a new facial cleanser, and I didn't order Kylie's. That's how I'm feeling at the moment. But I'm still going to finish off the products that I do have.

Whether or not I will eventually buy more again...? I'm not sure. And if Kylie Cosmetics were to all of a sudden go bankrupt from all the cancellations?! Would I miss it and riot? Not really...

The brand has had good formulas behind their products, in my opinion. But there are so many other options out there as well. There isn't really one product that I would say "I can't live with out it! Don't ever cancel it!" There are plenty of substitutions for similar things out there.

Watching the "Nepo Babies" of Hollywood trying to succeed, I think it comes down to authenticity. The success of Kylie's cosmetics empire was largely based on a perceived authenticity -- Kylie always showed on the show, Keeping Up With The Kardashians, that she loved makeup, she loved beauty. It was really authentic and genuine for her to enter the beauty space.

Now, with this recent drama, and perhaps also due to her brand constantly changing and having seasonal productions -- there's no staple, there's nothing long-lasting. It's not like Chanel No. 5, it's not like there's a particular Kylie product that withstands the test of time.

Trends do come and go, and perhaps soon, and eventually, people will forget about the recent drama with Selena Gomez -- but what is there left about Kylie products that is timeliness, like a Chanel No. 5?

I think if I were Kylie, I would play into "being a Leo" more. And that's just my personal preference -- I adore lions, and lion imagery. I revere the Egyptian Goddess Sekhmet the Lioness. And when Kylie wore her lion's head dress -- yes, it was controversial, but that was the kind of controversy that helped her publicity. Perhaps this recent drama with Selena Gomez was a miscalculated attempt at the same. Perhaps she had felt so immune to the controversy with even her "noose necklace" from Givenchy.

But this time around with Selena Gomez -- too far. She learned, that's where the line is. Mean Girl energy is an absolute "NO!" in the beauty space. Not only because of Selena Gomez, but the audiences are tired of it. Prior to this controversy there was Mikayla Nogeuira drama and other similar waves of "shade" thrown back and forth in the beauty space.

Now, in my opinion Kylie needs to Keep Up with the Online Beauty Space! If she wants to stay in this game.

Let me know if you enjoyed this story. I know it's not traditional reporting, I'm just sharing my own thoughts. If you're arrived here from my Tik Tok or YouTube, yes we're continuing the conversations in written word over here.

social mediaproduct reviewpop culturecelebrities
2

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.