Humans logo

Angels Camp in a Winterland

A short story inspired by lovely group of people who reach out to those struggling with mental health

By Amy BellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

A shiver goes down my spine as I look around. There nothing there, nothing but trees and snow. It feels like I’ve been walking for days, night hasn’t come yet though so it only hours.

“How many hours has been?” I ask myself as I look from tree to tree trying to find something familiar, or different. I’d take either at this point, everything looks the same and yet nothing looks familiar.

“At least it’s not snowing.” I tell myself trying, in vain, to motivate or cheer myself up. “Just keep going, you find something soon. Maybe a cave or people. Might even find a cabin”, a little hope starts to fill me for moment. It only takes a few seconds for my thoughts to become pessimistic “It’d probably be locked and there could be a bear in a cave.”

Unwilling to give in to my growing despair and sense of defeat, I continue to stumble along feeling more and more lost and helpless with each step. I see a shadow for time to time, and my steps get a little faster and lighter each time I see them, hoping that its cave or some kind of shelter. The disappointment that follows each time is crushing, making steps even heavier than before.

On and on I go as this Winter land forest seems to grow darker and darker. I start to wonder how long ago it was that I lost feeling in my hands and feet. And how much longer I can keep going.

Suddenly I see something new ahead, it makes me anxious. There seems to be something glowing. I creep closer and closer. Step by step. It gets brighter and brighter. The trees start to thin. Then I see it. A campfire. I can see a pile of wood off to the side, a dry log sits before it and on the log is a pile of blankets. “it looks so warm,” I think “Is this a dream, am I hallucinating.” I start to question it. It seems too good to be true. But that warmth I feel radiating of the fire feels so real.

Then I smell it. I swear nothing as ever smelt so good before. Hot cocoa. It draws me in. Before I know it, I’m standing in front of the fire. The most beautiful women I have ever seen stand before me, a kind smile and a hand stretched towards me with a steaming cup of hot cocoa in it.

I feel so warm, so comfortable, so safe. I felt so lost and helpless just moments ago, but now I am filled with this strange feeling like this was where I was meant to be. I’ve never felt such as sensation before. At first, I’m not sure whether I should accept it or not. But then there is this little voice telling me that what I’ve found here, its special. So, I reach out and take the cup.

“Thanks” I say with a small voice and a shaky smile. Just minutes later and I’m wrapped up in big blanket by the fire, sipping at the most delicious hot cocoa and talking to this angel as if we have known each other for years. Suddenly I know, this place in this company, its going to be like a second home.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Amy Bell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.