Humans logo

Am I the problem?

Taking a hard look at myself

By TPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Am I the problem?
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I have been thinking a lot about relationships recently. What makes someone want to be in a relationship or what makes someone want to be happily single? What it is it within the make up of us as humans that make us want to be attached to someone else for months, years, or even a lifetime? When I think about my previous relationships I often don't understand them. I have been in various relationships but none of them have led to a long lasting relationship so I have to wonder am I the problem? I have had guys promise me the moon and the stars over and over again but I still end up with the same result which is they move on and I'm left to pick up the pieces and move on all while my heart is broken. I start to think there must be something wrong with me am I too honest, reserved, impulsive, or clingy what could it be? Sure there have been times where I cared about someone and might have shown it too much but isn't that what you're supposed to do? When did it become a bad thing to show who you are in a relationship is that not what relationships are for? Relationships to me are about bonding with someone you can be yourself around you don't have to pretend to be something else because they like you for who you are and vise versa. When I think about my past relationships sometimes I think about what would have happened if I had done this or didn't do that? Would the relationship had lasted longer? Would I finally be in a happy long term relationship? Would we have gotten married? The answer to these questions are I don't know. I don't know what would have happened but what I now know is I'm glad it didn't happened. Why am I glad? I've come to realize that if I had to change who I was into order to stay in a relationship I would rather be alone. I used to be the person who would change things about myself for a relationship or friendship I thought things would get better if I was a different person but the reality is they didn't and I was still left alone. My whole life all I ever wanted was for someone to love and choose me. What I ended up realizing was that I didn't truly love myself and if I couldn't do that then how could anyone else possibly do it? I started to look deep within myself to figure out how could I start to love myself unconditionally. There were a few things I had to realize about myself and they were that I would never look like a supermodel, I am a emotional person, and when I care I really show I care. When I said those things out loud for the first time I realized I had a made a important step in discovering self love. From that moment on I would no longer be embarrassed about who I was and how I feel instead I would own it. From that moment one I decided I would own every part of me and if someone doesn't like it then their lost. In that moment and every moment since I continue not to live in fear of being alone I instead love myself first and when the right person comes along I will be ready to love and receive love. Yes, I was the problem. I was the problem because I didn't love and put myself first. The journey of discovering or rediscovering self love is not easy. It takes hard work but it is so worth it in the end because now I love me.

datinglove
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.