Humans logo

A Picture of You!

Beauty that Stops Time

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
A Picture of You!
Photo by Kane Reinholdtsen on Unsplash

Beautiful and bold, told time to take a minute to stop doing it's job as you walked across the room. The slight wind caught the loose ends of your dress, but to everyone's witness, you weren't moving that fast. Saw a quick chance to tell you my name and to tell you what was on my mind. Just as I closed my eyes for a quick second, someone already took my place. I see the way you smile at him and can tell that your were waiting for me to come over. I thought to make my way to the open mic, and sign up for some freestyle, candle lighting, make a woman feel good, words of relaxation.

Signed up for a random draw of the mic, and good news I was first! The look on your face from the dry company said you wanted to curse. Bass man started to play and I kindly paused him, and said "we are going to let the words flow on this one only! When she hears this, the rest of her days will never be lonely." Cleared my throat and I did this:

Paid a visit to the store, just a few days ago. Paused to look through a magazine, and saw a picture of you! Name of this book, didn't have the slightest clue! Stood there in shock and never thought God to do such a flawless line of perfection. Beauty so pure, all the lights turn red in all directions at the intersection. Waved my hand for the bass to come in place, but it was too late, he saw the beauty to which I speak and his eyes were laced. Looked her dead in the eyes and gave her this surprise.

Woman, for the water running down a bed of rocks has not a vantage point on your looks! The hearts you took and the minds your beauty will put at ease, they will write stories about you in many books. Let me put you in a car and we can go chase the sun, until we run out of road to drive. Never laid eye on such a prize as yourself. If you were a drink, the bartender would have to go high and take a ladder to reach you on the top shelf. There I stood, not a clue in the world; but stood happy as I thought of that magazine picture of you.

Still as I stand and my mind is a complete mess, can't stop thinking about the way you look in that dress. However, I'll make my way over, just to tell you my name. Give you thoughts and love you so your life would never be the same. Time to take my hand and let us leave this place, may a calm dinner and some soft music to settle the mood. Let me give you the reasons why there will be no other need because I have plenty of soul food. Let me make you forget those tears of yester year. Please understand, I have a picture of you and you have nothing to fear.

This mic is getting hot and my feet are very tired. Let's leave this place and get to know each other before our time expires. Finish up your drink and say your casual "goodbye's", and tell them all you found a better guy which is far from a lie. Let me pull my valet ticket and pay my tab. His plan wasn't to try to be smooth and take you home in a cab! Smile at you, and you can smile at me. Let's go places and look at clear blue water, as far as the eye can see.

dating

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jay LeTron DobbinsWritten by Jay LeTron Dobbins

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.