Humans logo

A Mysterious Encounter

A short romantic novel

By Jade RenteriaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Art by Isabella Renteria

At one night while working at my job as a pianist at a local restaurant, a stranger approached me. He made a request to play a specific song. There was a moment between us that was both awkward and electrifying. He walked away as I played the song. Later in the night, while I was on my break, he approached me. His hand reached out to me, silently asking me to dance. My hand clasped his, as he led me to the dance floor. He twirled me and held me close. I could feel his breath next to my cheek, whispering to me. The heat began to rise in our bodies as we danced. He breathed, "What is your name?" I smattered, "My name is Elena. I need to get back to work." He smiled, and a dimple appeared as he said, "That's a beautiful name you have. But I have no wish to have you leave so soon. They will be fine without you for a while. You get at least a 30 minute break, don’t you?” And instead of releasing me, he merely smiled, and pulled me closer. I couldn't think. My mind is blank but filled with wonder. His eyes were filled with curiosity, and twinkled with promises and mischief. His head leaned in close to mine for, what I thought might be a kiss, but he stopped as he stared at my eyes. Suddenly the room seemed to go silent, and the world fell away, as if we were the only two people left in the room.

The music stopped, and he led me outside to the gardens. I couldn’t help but notice how handsome he was, yet I didn’t want to be caught staring. The silence stretched between us, but it was not awkward, we were merely enjoying a stroll with our hands entwined. It's like it was fate. Like we are meant to be together. The stranger said, "When can I see you again, Elena?" His voice was tender, but yet so sexy. My heart was going to burst into a thousand pieces. I said, "Tomorrow, meet me outside at nine." He said, "Then, I will see you tomorrow." He bowed and left. I stood there and watched his silhouette disappear into thin air. I didn't even know his name. I began to wonder about him. But my break was over and I needed to return to work.

I walked back inside and resumed playing for the evening. My boss came over at one point, and tried to start a conversation with me, but I wasn't listening. I was busy thinking about HIM. I couldn't wait to go home, for it to be tomorrow, so I could see him again. When I did arrived home, I couldn't sleep, because I kept thinking about him. Why did he choose me? I wasn't anyone special. I was just an ordinary girl named Elena who lived in an apartment with a cat. I had more questions in my head than answers, and couldn’t settled. It seemed my eyes barely closed, and it was tomorrow.

My shift at the restaurant finished that night and I headed outside. I was excited to see him. I kept looking at my watch. I was a nervous wreck. An hour passed, he didn't come. I sighed and thought, “Why did you get your hopes up? It was too good to be true. You know nothing about him. He probably regretted his invitation the moment he left you.” Saddened and alone, I decided to go home. I had to admit, I was looking forward to seeing him, to seeing his mysterious handsome face with his dimples.

As I was walking home, berating myself for being so foolish, I wasn’t watching where I was going, and missed an uneven spot in the sidewalk. My ankle turned, paining me, and I went down. As I was lying on the ground, a man came over. He said, "Are you okay? Need help?" The voice sounded familiar, and as I looked up—there he was! It was HIM! The man from yesterday. He had green eyes with hair like ebony. He asked me if I wanted him to carry me home. I nodded. As he picked me up, I could feel his muscular body. He held me close as I smelled his cologne. We arrived at my apartment. I thanked him. He gave me a piece of paper. He smiled, and leaned in to kiss my hand. I said, "Why me?" He looked and said," What do you mean?" I said, "Why did you choose me? There are more choices than me." He smiled and said, "Why not? I like shy girls. They are kinder." He smiled, as he waved goodbye. He said, "I will see you soon, Elena. Good night." I blushed as I closed the door and smiled. I looked at the paper, and it has his name and number. It stated, "Alejandro Vasquez." My heart was beating so fast. Will I see him again?

love
Like

About the Creator

Jade Renteria

”ART is something that makes you breathe with a different kind of happiness.” - Anni Albers

“Writing is hard work. But if you want to become a writer you will become one. Nothing will stop you.” - Dorothy Day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.