Humans logo

A Housewife's Tale: Me and My Three Berry Salad

The most exciting part of a housewife's day is the story they can tell

By AbikaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
A Housewife's Tale: Me and My Three Berry Salad
Photo by Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

Becoming a housewife wasn’t something I had in mind for myself at the age of 27 years. Yet here I am, doing my day job in the house and my night chores as well. I have no children yet and my husband works all day what else am I going to do? Therefore my only refuge is the environment around me.

We moved into the neighborhood 2 months prior, therefore all my neighbors were fairly new to me. In fact, most hid behind their fences every time they are outside. Today, unlike most days, felt different I was in for a big surprise. Today, I was going to have the biggest shock of my life.

Every housewife reading this article I respect and support you completely.

Today, from the minute I woke up felt completely different from every other day. I couldn’t figure out what it was so I went about my day. Today is my laundry day so got busy, cleaning, cooking, and even got some with my husband before work. But now I am finished and have nothing to do.

Me, my book, and this 3 berry salad

At only noon, I decided to make myself a bowl of fruit, lucky me the other fruits we have are strawberries, grapes, and cherries, but I made it anyway. Then I headed to the living room for my book, an exciting crime mystery started reading 2 days ago, and headed to the little patio outside my bedroom. It was warm windy and just my kind of weather.

Only minutes after starting my book this flash of light caught my eyes, this was strange because I live in a relatively mature community. People go to work and then come home later in the afternoon. This was the beginning, but I didn’t know it yet.

My book was no longer interesting

Strange vehicle, at noon in an almost enough neighborhood then I’m going look. Ok, maybe it is because I am looking for something a little interesting to happen. So I set it aside took up my fruit bowl, watched, and waited to see what would play out.

By Josh Appel on Unsplash

The car stopped at the house behind ours, so now I have a clear view of the backyard. A man, at least it looks like a man, got out of the car after it pulled around back, and a woman came out of the car after. I couldn’t see their faces, but they just went into the house. I was so appointed.

The body stuffed in the trunk I didn’t see

Everything seemed normal, but only after an hour, I see the man come out to get something from the trunk. Still looking for something interesting to happen, I watched as he took out a black long cylinder thing. The only exciting thing that happened was the arm and legs that were visible hanging outside whatever was around the body.

This was interesting! So I watched as he took what looked like a body to the backyard, under the tree, and for some reason, opened it out. Because I was higher up I could barely see, but I know that had to be a body. This body looks dead, but I couldn’t stop watching. When the gun came out was when I decided to scream. And I did, but the man didn’t stop instead I heard my husband saying, “You are dreaming, wake up!”

I was only just a dream

When I woke up it was dawn and my husband was wondering why the heck I was screaming so loud. I was dreaming, thank you Jesus I was dreaming. But I could only think of 2 things. First, why would someone try to kill someone in their backyard, and second, I need to find something interesting to do to pass my time.

By Diane Picchiottino on Unsplash

After such an adventurous dream, the only thing I could do was down a cold glass of water and hug my husband back to sleep. But deep down I felt this dream was real and shocked me to my core. Nevertheless, my body relaxed and I went back to sleep.

Thank you for reading. Share and follow me for more short stories.

marriage
1

About the Creator

Abika

I started writing because it was my way to vent. Now I absolutely enjoyed writing and sharing.

I also write at Medium, find me at:

Medium lisby230.medium.com

Twitter Healthwise94358280

facebook peppingyourstep

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Excellent story! Well done!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.