History logo

Court JestHER

Surely she jests!

By Leslie WritesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
10

As we all know, the past has not been particularly kind to women, people of color, members of LGBTQ+ community, or individuals with disabilities. We are still seeing constant threats to the progress we’ve made towards equality. I’m sure every woman and minority who approaches this Vocal challenge has considered this.

When deciding on a career from the past, us ladies can either choose to ignore the social conventions of the time and imagine ourselves as whatever we want: Medieval knight, Greek philosopher, Pyramid architect. Alternatively, we might lament the fact that these positions were simply not available to us, choosing to write instead about ourselves in a role traditionally held by women, such as a nurse, schoolteacher or, if we’re feeling especially bold, suffragette.

Recently we’ve learned how recorded history tends to leave out the contributions of women and minorities. You have to dig a little deeper to get the whole story. When I saw the medieval knight on the contest page, I immediately thought of writing about myself as the knight’s creative contemporary, the court jester. That idea led me to Google if there were in-fact any female court jesters in history. It stands to reason that queens might prefer to get their HA-HAs from another lady. My search proved fruitful indeed!

One interesting thing I noted in my research is that the terms ‘Jester’ and ‘Fool’ are somewhat interchangeable. However, there is a distinction between a professional jester who learns skills such as tumbling, juggling, poetry, etc. and a ‘natural fool.’ A natural fool was typically someone with a mental or physical disability. These were very unenlightened times, and these sorts of differences were subject to ridicule. On the other hand, individuals with conditions such as dwarfism were in demand for this kind of work. It was so common that many jesters without mental conditions would fake one as a part of their act. That’s the sort of thing that would get you canceled today (and rightfully so)!

The jester’s ‘madness’ (natural or fabricated) afforded them the ability to take jabs at those in power. There was even a term for it, ‘jester’s privilege.’ The jester’s costume is even designed as a mock version of the symbols of royalty. The classic jester hat with the bells represents a crown and the little marionette they hold represents the royal scepter.

Social commentary and political criticism have always been the comedian’s vital purpose. The same is true of the modern day jester. Here is a quote from John Stewart’s acceptance speech for the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

“Comedy survives every moment. [...] Comedy doesn’t change the world, but it’s a bellwether. We’re the banana peel in the coal mine. When society is under threat, comedians are the ones who get sent away first. [...] What we have is fragile and precious, and the way to guard against it isn’t to change how audiences think, but to change how leaders lead.”

I am not saying that jesters were the voice of reason, the advocate for the people in the monarch’s ear, but I am sure they dropped the occasional truth bomb just to shake things up. It is in a comedian’s nature to push the envelope, see what they can get away with.

Allow me to introduce a few of the most famous female Court Jesters and Fools in Europe from the Medieval through Renaissance period.

  • Jane Foole served the queens of the English court during the reign of King Henry VIII. Due to a learning disability, she was considered a ‘natural fool.’
  • Mathurine de Vallois served at the French court for King Henry III, King Henry IV, and King Louis XIII in the 17th century. She was quick witted and famous for wearing an Amazon warrior costume. After an assassination attempt, Mathurine apprehended the king’s assailant with her wooden prop sword.
  • Nichola aka "La Jardinière" was a French jester to Mary Queen of Scots.
  • Maria Barbola was an Austrian born ‘court dwarf’ who entertained Queen Isabel of Spain.

As I reach the end of this essay, I wonder why I picked an era of feudalism and poor sanitation. I could have pictured myself telling jokes in the early 1900’s Vaudeville, or the 1960’s beatnik comedy scene at the experimental ‘Hungry i Club” in New York. I could even have set my sights on the standup comedy boom of the 1980’s and imagined getting my own sitcom.

Damnit!

I suppose I like the Renaissance period from an artistic standpoint. I can’t paint like Da Vinci, but I can juggle (I know, what a dork!), sing, dance, speak in a variety of silly voices, write stupid puns, and generally make a fool of myself. Maybe I would have gotten sepsis from a hang-nail and died young. Maybe I would have said the wrong thing and gotten beheaded for my insolence. Either way, it would have been entertaining.

Sources:

https://www.jesterplanet.com/the-court-jester/who/male-female/

https://www.scribblewits.org/blog/jane-foole-the-court-jester

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jester

https://rabbitholemag.com/to-mock-the-mighty-a-history-of-court-jesters/

GeneralResearchMedievalFiguresAnalysis
10

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Well researched and written. I am fascinated with the Renaissance period, and quite impressed but not surprised that you can juggle. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Whoaaa, juggling doesn't make you a dork! I cannot juggle and that makes me feel like a dork. Knowing how to juggle is such a flex. Also, no puns are stupid. All puns are punny. Pun intended 🤣 I guess I was most intrigued by Mathurine because of her name. I've never heard of that name before. I enjoyed reading this piece!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Leslie, I like your stream of consciousness sort of narrative you chose! It felt very engaging and more conversational than “story-like” which was very pleasing for me. I also liked how you took us through your creative process, I found it thought provoking and insightful. You’ve changed the meaning of Fool for me… I am now concerned with the phrasing of Disney villain speech as they tend to call everyone around the fools. Which by your definition is to call them incompetent and disabled… 😳 Overall I love the premiss, thought and research you put into this article! It was engaging, humour and a thought provoking read! Nicely done, Leslie!

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ms. Leslie - Who me inflicted with 'Coulrophobia' ~ And I'm not 'Jesting' - - 'Surely' you're fun - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Awesome job, Leslie!!! This was so interesting.

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    That was some fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely.

  • This was a very enjoyable and enlightening read. Thank you Leslie!

  • That was Greatly reconsidered and well Researched😉❤️📝💯👍❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.