History logo

Black People are subjected to the most Stereotypes

My honest thoughts on Black Americans

By Shanon NormanPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like

I feel like I'm a backwards Oreo cookie - black on the inside, and white on the outside. I've read the traditional historical accounts about Africa and slavery and the civil war and the civil rights movement. I've watched movies, shows, and read books about Black people and witnessed the same diversity of stories that I witnessed about White people. I have written poems and essays declaring that I am not "racist" because I do my best not to judge a person on their skin color, but try to understand them based on their heritage, culture, and education. Still, after 50 plus years of defending my White American self, (always bitter about the word "slave") I will admit one opinion I have about Black people: Black people are subjected to the most Stereotypes.

Before I explain what I mean by "stereotypes" I want to address my experience and education regarding Black people in America. Most of us were taught (or at least I thought so) that the land we call America was mostly untouched over 200 years ago and the only natives here were brown skinned natives like the people you see in South America. We were taught that the Black people were native to Africa, and that they were stolen, bought, traded, and shipped to America to be "slaves". This is how the history books presented it to young Americans like me trying to understand "racism" and old negative feelings between people who looked or thought differently. So after the Civil Rights movement, people either subscribed to Martin Luther King's dream of peaceful protest and negotiations, or Malcolm X type thinking, that "Eye for an Eye" and "Force meets Force" is the only way to defend a culture or community. I've spent the past twenty years pondering both philosophies, and still know that they are both right, so I still can't choose who is "wiser". Yet I still defend myself and say "I'm not racist!" But that's NOT the whole truth either, because I am racist enough to know that a black person is black, I am white, and a Spanish or Oriental person looks Spanish or Oriental. I'm not blind. Only a blind person could declare with absolute certainty that they are NOT racist. When I say I'm not "racist" I mean that I won't discriminate against someone based on the color of their skin or nationality. There are so many reasons to discriminate, but mostly it boils down to whether an individual is liked or not liked regardless of the details.

In my 52 years of witnessing Americans do all the crazy things that Americans do, I've seen all races do shady things. They all have built their own "stereotypes" based on how often they do what they do, and how the statistics (believe them or not) reflect on that group of people. It may or may not be true that a certain percentage of black people are more incarcerated than white, or it may or may not be true that a certain percentage of black people are more violent than white, but to people who believe in those statistics, the stereotypes are solidified by the numbers. When I (a white bred white girl who tries to stay out of trouble) went to jail, what did I see? Were the statistics I had read in college validated by what I was witnessing? To some degree, yes. But there were other things I saw and learned that were not reported in any history book or statistics book. Kindness and talent and love that doesn't get reported. Horrible crimes and thoughts committed by spoiled priveledged white people that rarely gets reported. It was enlightening, but I still wanted to defend "myself" and say, "I'm not a racist" which means that even given all this new information, I can not hold that against a certain "group" because one bad apple may spoil the bunch, but the bunch shouldn't be hated or categorized as "rotten" just because of that one apple.

The stereotypes of black people in America hasn't changed that much in the 50 years I've seen even though we've had tons of Black heroes and heroines to look up to. I still think that many black American people have to deal with the perceptions (fears of stereotypes) that include "Violent" -"Untrustworthy" - "Lazy" - "Deceiptful" and "Anti-Establishment".... Those are harsh judgements, but I haven't seen those lifted off Black people in 50 yeras regardless how many heroes we've praised or how many good deeds have been done. Riots and fights don't help that cause any, so if "Violent" is not a term the Black community enjoys being called, then Martin's philosophy would be better than Malcolm's.

I say I feel like a black person in a white body because I take pride in what I consider good about my "blackishness" like great music, great dancing, soul food, fabulous art and taste in designs, strength when needed, and a passionate commitment to church and state regardless of the stereotypes and sins of the past. Places like New York City and New Orleans would not have thrived or had the flavor and flare they became famous for without Black people. That's the absolute truth in my opinion.

As an individual who wants to stay safe and wise, one can never get too comfortable even when accepted or loved by any group. I've seen gay men turn bad on other gay men. I've seen blacks turn on black and white trun on whites. I've seen betrayal happen in every culture and every group. Love is trust, and trust is fragile and too many times people mistake an invitation or an acceptance as a finality, a forever truth. They forget that time changes people (regardless of the group) and circumstances change, and change is the reason one or a group can never get too comfortable. We, Americans (any color, race, or heritage) will always be challenged for wanting to be the best as a nation and wanting to include and invite everybody to our table.

Perspectives
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.