History logo

A Soldier of the Bourgnewian Kingdom

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
1
A Soldier of the Bourgnewian Kingdom
Photo by Lydia Turner on Unsplash

I never thought His Majesty would look upon me after all I am just a lowly soldier in his army. It was after the Battle of Pigs that I received the honor. The men fought valiantly and they were amazed at how much they had driven back the enemies of the kingdom. It was only a few of us men valiant men who fought the battle while others retreated and we were braved. And we had courage even though the battle did not look within our favor. We fought this war. We fought this battle. And we were willing to die for His Majesty and the kingdom. You see the Kingdom of Bourgnew was our home. It was our livelihood. And we were not gonna let anyone take that away from us. We believed in His Majesty. We believe in His wisdom and His sovereignty. And that's what I used to gathered the men. That they loved the Kingdom of Bourgnew and that they loved their homeland and are loyal subjects to His Majesty King Mattius. King Mattius guaranteed that he would give special benefits to those who fought valiantly. And that they would receive the King's Honors. And he was a man of his word and he had the grace and reputation to do so. And the government was behind him and his officials were loyal subjects. I fought bravely with the men. And we did not have much losses. We stood on the line and fought valiantly and we were not willing to fail or give up. We were of the highest order in our minds. And we were willing to die for our country and His Majesty. The enemies of the Kingdom begin to speak in our language but that did not detour us. We knew they were trying to mess with our heads and stop us from valiantly fighting. And we captured their leader and we captured their valiant men. And we chained them up and stripped them of all their glory. And we hauled them to our base and prison. When His Majesty heard the news, he came himself. He came to the front secretly and we did not know. We just assumed he was higher authority. And His Majesty was delighted at the courage of his men and he was delighted with their valiant. And he invited them after under-covering himself to the Royal Banquet. I Captain Leon Davidie was honored to serve for the king. And that night I got drunk and slept with a maiden. And she made me swear that I would not tell anyone. She was lovely like a princess, a Queen in my book. And I love every minute of her of seeing her she was just simply lovely. A few weeks later, it was heard that the King Mattius was in an uproar. His wife was rumored to be pregnant and some say she cheated on him. And so the King searched for her adulterer. And the bad lot fell upon my troops, all of us were interrogated and persecuted. And while in jail, I told my men that I would take the fall. Afterall I believe that princessly maiden could of been the Queen because she was just lovely. She was beautiful in every way and she had me to swear. And my men said all the women were lovely. All the women were beautiful. We cannot let you take the fall. We all will say. And I insisted No save yourselves. You have been loyal enough to me. You have saved my life over and over again. I will not let you fall for me. I am your Captain and this is my last command. And I spoke to the Guard, Sir I confessed. I slept with the Queen. And the Guard told his Captain and they moved me into solitary. And the men cried and they were distraught. The King interrogated me with the Queen. And the Queen proudly said I did not sleep with that man. And the King demanded that I tell the story. And I told the story about how I was drunk and a beautiful maiden that appear like the Queen slept with me. The Queen said Mattius do you know how old I am? Really do you know how old I am? I am only six years younger than you. How could I be a beautiful maiden then? Then the King said But did you sleep with someone else is my question? The Queen said Many people want a Queen, many people fantasy about royalty but my eyes and loyalty is to the King. The King regretted I know when my beloved is telling the truth. She acts like my mother. Released him and make him a general. And just then I was released and promoted by His Majesty King Mattius thanks to the Queen.

World History
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.