Gamers logo

Review for Nintendo Switch's "Stray Gods"

Read this before purchasing! (NO SPOILERS!)

By Hope MartinPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read

I'm going to start this review by saying: I will DO MY VERY VERY BEST! NOT! TO! GIVE! SPOILERS! That said, those of you who have played the game, you're going to understand what I am saying. I'm really dedicated to this because the game is so brand new.

I'm going to continue the review by also saying: I don't replay games. I don't have the time or attention span to replay games unless I REALLY like it. There are some exceptions. Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy games, Spiro, AND THIS GAME! I am going to be playing this game REPEATEDLY. I can't even tell you how excited I am to do it.

I should probably tell you what the game is about. In the most summarized summary I can muster without giving away dead spoilers here it is:

The game Stray Gods by Nintendo Switch is a musical roleplaying game. It is about Greek Gods who have lived in the modern world by passing their souls into humans who have agreed to be their successors. One day, a regular girl named Grace happens to meet one of these Greek God people, who call themselves Idols. Grace just happens to be in a band, and having an existential crisis so she sings, because the storyline makes singing appropriate which is AWESOME because setting the mood for a musical is VERY important - and then from there things happen involving Greek Gods and stuff. SO! That's ALL I can say, because of SPOILERS. It has music. It has Greek Pantheon mythology. And it has options. Here. Have a trailer to watch if you're invested at this point. It's way better than what I can do with words.

This is a 'make choices' kind of game. There are three choices for each option, and you control the WHOLE game. There are romantic options, and there are so many ways this game could go. It's like one of those 'choose your own ending' books but a...video game. My fiance has played it, and his ending was a lot different than mine, and the epilogue after was a lot different too. And his ending song. His was totally better.

The music is amazing. Since it's a musical roleplay game, there are a lot of songs. But you can decide the direction the song goes, and there are three options during the musical numbers, and the decisions outside of the musical numbers too. And every choice affects the way the game goes. Same story, it's just small changes, small changes that can add up to a completely different story.

Critical Role's very own Laura Baily(who plays Grace) and Ashley Johnson (Calliope) star in major roles in this video game. Which made me biased toward this game the minute my fiance told me about it (all of the Critical Role voice actors are my nerd-crushes - every one of them. Maybe it's not so much nerd-crushes, I love them. If you guys don't know who Critical Role is, I PROMISE they are WORTH a search on Youtube, especially if you like Dungeons and Dragons. There will be an article now that I am down this rabbit hole. Ya'll can thank my fiance for planting this obsession in me).

The story was amazing - which was super important because the whole game is basically a storybook that has different ending options. The story had to be good, or the game would literally suck. We all know that Greek mythology has been used a lot, but it was a nice take on it. It was a spin, with a unique take on all of the Pantheon's stories, and what they would be like in a 'today' kind of environment.

I also enjoyed the fact the game was inclusive. There were romantic options with both male and female characters, and there was a character that was agender as well. I love that I see these big people like Nintendo and popular icons being pro-choice and pro-life in this way, and working toward a world where being all-inclusive of every human life is a normal thing, even in video games and media. I feel like this is just proof that as time goes on, humanity could change for the better, as long as we have people who are willing to acknowledge that every human deserves to be acknowledged and respected.

Sorry, I got distracted again. Anyway!

There were ONLY two complaints. The game would crash randomly. LUCKILY! The game autosaves after EVERY scene, so if you crash you will load up right where you left off. Only when it crashes in the middle of a loading scene right after a scene will it make you repeat a song. The other complaint: the audio is still glitchy.

This game is brand new. It only came out a few days ago, so I am absolutely certain these two complaints will be fixed very soon. So if you're reading this after the first patch - there's probably nothing to complain about.

All in all, the game is SO WORTH BUYING if you enjoy roleplaying, choice-making, and interactive musicals. I'm stressing these words here for a reason. If you like shooter games or fast-action games, it probably won't be your cup of tea. There is literally no walking or doing anything but making options. It's like an interactive picture book. I loved it, and I can't wait to play it again for a new round of choices.

My 5-year-old daughter is competing in Nationals at the All American Miss Pageant in Orlando Fl, during Thanksgiving Week this year. It is being hosted with National American Miss. We are trying to raise money for hotel costs, her casual modeling outfit, her formal gown, and to submit her portfolio in a Photogenic. All money I make off of Vocal will be going straight to her Pageant.

If you are inspired by my “amazing” writing (haha!) to donate to Aylaina-Sky's pageant, please tip this story! Every dollar helps!

womenrpgproduct reviewnintendonew releasesfeatureconsolecelebritiesadventure games

About the Creator

Hope Martin

Find my fictional fantasy book "Memoirs of the In-Between" on Amazon in paperback, eBook, and hardback.

You can also find it in the Apple Store or on the Campfire Reading app.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hope MartinWritten by Hope Martin

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.