FYI logo

Unloved By Vocal Creators

Some Of My Most Read Vocal Stories Have Very Few Vocal Hearts

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
77

Introduction.

I thought I would just list some of my Vocal creations that have a lot of reads but do not seem to have to been read by many Vocal Creators. This is not a whine but just something I have noticed (I do get a lot of Vocal reads and writes) and if you read this you may see something of mine that you missed.

Obviously, if you don't read this you won't see something that you might have missed.

My top three stories have twenty-three Vocal hearts between them.

My Top Three

This was an experiment in clickbait that actually worked, but I don't know how. It is still my most-read piece.

This was a surprise as it was about an excellent autism focussed episode of "The Cleaner" by Greg Davies with Robbie Curran. I did hope it would become my most-read piece because I am not particularly proud of my most-read piece but that is life.

I don't know where the reads for this came from but it does get one or two new reads each week but that's not enough for it to become my number one.

This one is still getting reads from somewhere, closing in on four hundred and it has not yet stagnated. I think the artwork in here is stunning, but again I do not know who is reading this, but they are not Vocal readers.

My alternate Kate Bush piece is another playlist that only got three Vocal Hearts but a lot of reads from other sources, which I think are various Facebook Music groups.

The thing is that this shows you can generate a small income on Vocal without getting much input from the Vocal community. I don't read every Vocal story that I see and I know my close friends don't read every story that I publish and I would not expect them to. We only have so much free time and it's a bit like going to a restaurant where you miss out on a meal that you would like to try because you order, once again, your favourite meal. Though the thing is, with Vocal Stories is that if you have the time and inclination you can read one after another without getting full, so to speak.

The amazing surreal art of Martin Muller as Neon Park that adorned the covers of many Little Feat albums as well as some Frank Zappa ones. Again a hundred reads against four Vocal Hearts. I know that these articles are interesting to many people but not the Vocal Cognoscenti, but I do have the benefit of the external reads that I have got to back up my confidence in my writing.

Michael Moorcock is a favourite fantasy author of mine and is an influence on a lot of my fiction for Vocal. I got into him because he was referenced by Hawkwind, and this piece was about his collaborations with rock bands, especially Hawkwind and the Blue Oyster Cult. Three Vocal Hearts for this one but ninety-five reads.

My interview with Louise Distras, which was great fun because she recorded her answers for me which gave it an added dimension. She shared the piece on her pages so that brought in some extra reads for me. Check it out you may find it as enjoyable as I did.

One of my earliest Vocal pieces, about how I like to wander, taking the title from a George Harrison song which I think took it from a character from Lewis Carrol's "Alice In Wonderland" universe.

I will close this with a poem that I wrote about giving a Vocal Heart. I love my Vocal audience and friends, but I am also glad for the not Vocal people who take the time to read my Vocal creations.

HumanityMystery
77

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexandria Stanwyck9 months ago

    Thanks for bringing attention to this. It is so weird that the readings and hearts are usually not even close to matching. I understand that it might be a rare occurrence for them to match, but one would think they would at least be closer.

  • Stevi-Lee Alverabout a year ago

    It's interesting. I started Medium and Vocal at the same time. Posted exactly the same content on each platform, at the same time. I have so much more engagement on Medium, compared to hear on Vocal. I'm not sure why. It feels like members here don't read each other's work.

  • Arhealthiabout a year ago

    Well written

  • Alexis Dean Jr.about a year ago

    I haven’t read most of your work, but I think what can register as “reads” is someone simply looking at your work and gaining their attention for a bit. But, a “heart” is similar to the “like” button on Facebook. Unless you have a loyal following who just click the button because it’s there, “hearts” might tell you more about your audience than reads. Your titles are really great and gain attention! That gets the reads. So, to get the hearts, it may take a deeper dive into your actual content. Cool piece here

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Well done again, Mike! You have such a gift at putting your whole personality into your pieces.

  • Martha Ballabout a year ago

    What fascinating deep dive into Vocal trends, thanks for sharing your own stats!

  • Will Shimnom Simonabout a year ago

    Awesome!

  • Abdullah janabout a year ago

    I like your stories full of delightful love just keep up the good work BTW check my story ass well https://vocal.media/stories/a-little-girl-was

  • Fathima Azhaabout a year ago

    Wow 🤩 amazing

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    very interesting read

  • That was interesting - thanks!

  • Kayla Lindleyabout a year ago

    I leave a heart on everything I read on here, because it does tell me personally where my strengths are as a writer when I see alot of likes. Or it encourages me to write more of that type of content etc. So I definitely see how this is super valid. I like how they added the comments feature, because for awhile I don't think they had it, so I love leaving feed back when I do read things. I feel like we should all get into the habit of leaving reviews, both good and bad on the different pieces to encourage each other and help us grow! Great work! Look forward to seeing more from you!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing your investigative thoughts/results, Mike. There are a lot of puzzling things to ponder about with this topic and more. I always make sure and leave a heart when I leave a comment to any story. Thanks again.

  • Stephen A. Roddewigabout a year ago

    I read but didn’t leave a heart in honor of the “not Vocal people” out there 😉

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    This was beautiful Mike! I'm sorry I can't read more, even though I know it's not a whine and you don't expect me to read everything, I try my best to read as much as I can! Especially your stuff because it is awesome 😎🙂💗

  • Queen of Forgiveness™about a year ago

    I love everything about this post. From the music I listened to from beginning to end to how you featured some of your best content, your profile even features other Vocal creators. I'm now subscribing. I look forward to reading more of your content and sharing what I can with my audience.

  • Justin @ Vocalabout a year ago

    We will be releasing some updates (hopefully) tomorrow introducing some new community building features. Stay tuned ⏰

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Clickbait works cause it gives people a sense of hope and urgency that they're looking for. The clickbait one was especially money oriented. "Get rich quick" has always been a scheme around as long as "snake oil salesmen." The promise of something, but in return it's something else. Hence why it have so few hearts. If there's any actual useful information in there it might have received more hearts, shares, and reads. However, just by putting it out on different platforms alone with SEO optimization, it seems to have done well for itself even if the title doesn't promise anything. Like in a YouTube video, when people see a thumbnail they want the thumbnail to be apart of the video. Hence why thumbnails that tend to have scantily clad women, claims of making tons of cash, etc. tend to work. Sex sells and money attracts people that probably don't have a lot of it and would like to change their economic situation. Peace.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing these numbers. I knew in theory that we can share our articles outside of Vocal, but this is the first time I saw the numbers of how it looks like. You've given me much to think about. Well done! 🤗

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Congratulations Mike! It is fascinating thinking about where reads come from and why.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Congrats on the top story

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    An interesting insight into your vocal experience and how your stories are read like crazy but hearts are not always there, which makes no sense to me! Congratulations on top story brother!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congratulations!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Hearts & hearts. One thought comes to mind. 38 hearts, 27 comments, and stats has 35 reads. The numbers don't add up, but such is life. When I read a story, I always leave a heart and now comments.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.