FYI logo

My Development On Vocal

A Few Landmarks From My Time On Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
7
Me and My Creationati

Introduction

This really started because I wanted to be able to get a simple list of my Top Stories. I do think that it would be great if Vocal both added a Top Story icon to the story and allowed you to filter Top Stories by a Creator name and/or add a Top Story Community filter on your own profile page.

I then thought I could maybe write a directory page of my Top Stories similar to the ones I did for poetry, music and other writing, but were then effectively superseded by the Vocal Community Filter. The stories are still there but I no longer update them.

So if you want to check out my posts in Beat you can see them on the link below.

Then I had a lightbulb moment.

Your Wallet

This gives a full history of everything that has given you a financial reward on Vocal. When I looked it became so obvious and I wondered how I had not seen this. So I will list every significant (to me) occurrence from my wallet. This is not public, obviously but it means that you can see how I have developed. Some of these events and people, I have mentioned before but this is just for completeness and effectively tells you the reason why I am still here annoying and informing and entertaining you.

Mikeydred's Vocal History

My Start On Vocal

I was tempted by their Challenge prizes and joined in April 2021, I took a slight break to align my Vocal+ payment date with my payday, but earnings from reads in my first month was 5c. That went up tenfold in my second month and by then I had published ten stories with two significant bonuses.

My Vocal Progress

In June I withdrew my first twenty dollars from Vocal and got an "awesome story" bonus, my first. These were slightly annoying, the five dollars was nice but there was no public recognition, sort of "yeah we know it's good, but not good enough for us to share in public", but I was happy to take the money.

Then in July, you can see something happened that made me really believe that my writing had value, two small tips from Call Me Les shocked me into seeing that people valued my writing. This is why she is number one on my Creationati list, and because of that, I try to give a dollar tip to new writers to give them encouragement.

In August I got my first Ambassador's payment, a few more awesome stories, a ten-dollar tip and my first Top Story for the poem below. I thought that meant that Vocal had accepted me as a poet, but I was wrong, very few of my poems have been chosen as a Top Story.

Sometime around the end of 2021 and the start of 2022 awesome stories seemed to disappear and Top Stories started becoming more common. This seemed to coincide with the Challenges having smaller value prizes but becoming more common and, I think, getting more engagement because of Vocal Creators' belief that they might just win, and a few close friends have actually won, which really made me happy. I still have not even been placed in a Vocal Challenge but that day will come, I am sure.

Where I Am On Vocal Today

I will finish with where I am now on Vocal, over twenty-five thousand reads, five hundred subscribers and more than a few Top Stories. I have been surprised by how much of my history is in my wallet and it has saved me from having to write another directory post.

Conclusion

I hope this has proved a useful article because you can find all this information about your own Vocal history from your wallet. Below are two stories, one about my proposed Vocal Network and my Creationati , and one about the Ambassador's program.

Pop CultureHumanityHistorical
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    Great job summarizing your Vocal journey and highlighting the importance of checking your wallet for your Vocal history. It's interesting to see how your earnings and recognition have grown over time, and your commitment to supporting and encouraging other writers is admirable. Looking forward to reading more of your work!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Love the idea that they could add a Top Story Icon and have a filter for creator/ community! I appreciate the reminder of where to find these things but I mostly appreciate you sharing your journey with us! Thank you!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Very cool to see this info and your growth! 😁

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    It's heartening to read this story and see the progress made. Your consistent persistence was also key in your growth. That, and the community you surrounded yourself with and developed 🤗

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    I had gotten that recognition bonus before where it’s not a top story just a bonus, I was just glad lol But I am so glad you see your progress and analyze your history through the vocal wallet. Very interesting, brother!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.