FYI logo

Producing a Vocal Story With Your Phone Or Tablet

A tutorial

By Mother CombsPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - December 2023
40

Oh, no! Your PC or Chromebook is on the blitz, and you must get a new one or wait for repairs. Or, instead, you’ve gone on vacation and forgotten to bring your laptop with you. Either way, writing and posting to Vocal is now put on hold until you return to your device or buy a new one.

I have heard the same things from several people concerning using their cell phones or tablets to post a story to Vocal. They can not get the page to save, or they can not get the words to type onto the page. They have said that posting from a handheld device can not be done.

Well, I am here to show a way to get around the “I can not” and how there is a way to write for Vocal using only your phone. Because there is a way around the block, and it’s a reasonably simple bypass. It just requires a few steps, and you will have your story ready to post from your phone or tablet.

Once you read this article, you can quickly post from your phone or tablet. It is such a simple solution you will be like, why did I not think of this before? So, with no more pomp, I give you the answer to a dilemma.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

  1. The first step is to open up your Chrome app– not your Google, but your Chrome.
  2. Once you have opened Chrome, you want to click on the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen. Clicking these dots will bring down a drop-down.
  3. There will be several things to select from in the drop-down menu. Look for the words Open in Desktop or View in Desktop. Doing this will change the app from a mobile site to a desktop site.
  4. After you have clicked the desktop site, you are ready to open vocal.media up. So go ahead and open it up, and click on “Create Story.”
  5. You can begin writing your article once you have opened up the story editor. First, you must go ahead and Title, Subtitle, and add a picture to your story. When you have completed this, you need to save. Now, you are ready for the next step.
  6. Now you are ready to write the body of your article. To do this, you must open your writing app: whether Notes, Word, or Google Docs, it does not matter. So go ahead and open up your writing app. Since you are on a smaller device with a tiny keyboard, it is best to do voice dictation first to type out what I want, then edit any mistakes while still in my writing app.
  7. After editing your draft in your writing app, you can copy and paste the whole article to your copy on vocal.media. Save it immediately once you have copied and pasted it to the post.
  8. Now comes the touchy part. Very carefully, you can add any formatting or pictures to the body you want; just watch your cursor. Save again when you are satisfied with the layout.
  9. Submit when you are happy with how it reads and looks.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

That is it. That’s all there is to it. I have included pictures with instructions for those who need them.

Thank you for reading. I hope this helps you.

Click on the three dots in the upper right-hand corner
Look for "Desktop Site"
Check the box by "Desktop Site"
Once you are logged into Vocal, click the drop-down menu and select "Create Story"
Add title, subtitle, and picture, click save
Copy and paste your article from your writing document to the Vocal article file. Once you are done, do your formatting and save. Submit to Vocal. Congratulations, you just created your first story from your phone.

Vocal
40

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Belle16 days ago

    I have been having issues trying to upload from my phone/tablet! I will definitely try this!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I am terrified of being n this situation yet am saving your sage advice as one of my rabbit's has caused damage to my laptop charger and although salvaged temporarily, apparently it is difficult to secure a new one. This is my worst nightmare.

  • Of course! For those who wish to use their phone or tablet to post on Vocal, this guide offers a workable method.

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    This is very helpful. Thank you for sharing.

  • Kelly Sibley 5 months ago

    Thanks for all this great info; most appreciated.

  • Celia in Underland5 months ago

    I cannot do anything on my phone. My fingers are too fat! But definitely tablet advice was helpful-Thank you and congrats on TS. Hope this gets put in Resources! 🤍

  • Thank you for this. I have tried to work on my phone before and it did not go well. I definitely will have to come back to this often.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Mother Combs, thank you for sharing this how to!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    It is a nightmare writing things on my cell, but I will trust you and try this (not even sure I have Chrome on this thing). A valuable TS! 🏅

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Great share. Really helpful. Thank you.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    I love this Mother Comb!! Another great work around is to just long on with safari on your phone instead of using the app! Safari works just the same as it does on your PC! Also congrats on Top Story!!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    Thank you! gzz on TS too

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Well done on this, Sharon. I am sure it will be of great use to lots of people! Congrats on it getting Top Story too! :)

  • C. Rommial Butler5 months ago

    Thanks for this heads up!

  • Very helpful, I did one ages ago when I had problems publishing on my phone, glad Judey has shared yur

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    I'm going to share this as a resource on the Support Facebook group!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Thank you this is useful information. My laptop has grammaly program. I cannot write a piece without it.

  • Tjays really helpful thank you

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Thank you for info. I wasn't aware of the desktop option on the phone. Great article.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Great instructions! Thank you for taking the time and explaining this. 

  • This is how I've been publishing since my very first story. I have no idea how I figured out the Desktop View thing but I'm very grateful I did. Lol. I'm so glad you wrote this because it'll for sure be helpful to many people!

  • Kay Husnick5 months ago

    I didn't even realize you could switch to the desktop site like that in the Chrome app. Great tutorial!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.