Futurism logo

Space Oddity

Chapter One: Screams

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Space Oddity
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

No one can hear the screams in the vacuum of space, or so they say. And as I float there, screaming, I realized they were wrong.

Due to the obvious signs of mass destruction, our dearest home planet Earth was reaching the ends of major devastation. Mass extinction of nearly every creature and extreme global warming causing catastrophic disasters all over the globe; human invasion had finally taken its course, and there was nowhere left to run, other than to the extremities of the Universe.

Captains Log:

It has been three years, five months and seventy-two hours since my team and I embarked on this journey to find new worlds. To find a new home that would, in dire hopes, replace our dying planet. The planet Earth was no bigger than a pea by the time we reached the depths of space. This vast wide open is incredible, I wish you all could see it. Words can not describe what we see. Though pure darkness is all around us, still, the universe is lit up like a carousel among the stars and the billions of galaxies that surround us. In these stressful times -- the reason for our journey, we can't help put to feel at peace. I hope we near our new home soon. I miss my family. We miss you all.

Signing off, Cap. Honey

It was just in that moment we received a radio signal from a twinkle among the stars. Sitting at the recording station, Major Marks shot up from the desk, "Sir, we've got something!" Myself and the rest of the crew came running to the table where Mark's was stationed, standing behind him, I peered over their shoulders as we listened to the recording, "play it Major."

The sounds were eerie, at first they didn't make sense and were barely understandable; but after Marks made a couple adjustments to the recording it was clear as day. It sounded like someone.. singing. And even more weird, singing my favorite song. A favorite of all those who enter into space. What the hell was going on.

The rest of the night the crew was silent. No one could muster up what to make of it. No one wanted to admit what they heard, myself especially. And so we voted to talk about it after a nights rest.

Captains Log:

I'm scared.. I don't know what to make of it. I worry for my crews safety. They're all I have in this vast openness. Or so I think...

Signing off, Cap. Honey

The next morning I called for a team meeting at noon in the lunch room. I still didn't know what to make of this odd recording, "Marks can you bring a copy of the recording, please."

"Yes, Cap." He responded, flustered by the tones of the night before. Everyone walked around with their heads cocked, looking at the floor, or simply in the stars, dazed. I couldn't blame them, a discovery beyond our imagination was about to be reveled. We all knew it. As we did our normal morning routines of workouts, showers and medical practices of taking vitamins and daily blood tests, the lunch hour was nearing and we all increasingly became more nervous. Beads of sweat fell from my forehead as I gathered the crew in the lunch room.

"Alright team, I think we all know what we heard on that recording and we should prepare for the impossible," I got straight to the point, "Marks, play the recording."

Marks clicked the button on the recording device and it began to sing -- in my voice.

"This is Major Tom to ground control..

I'm steppin' through the door..

and I'm floating in the most of peculiar ways...

and the stars look very different.. today.." (David Bowie, Space Oddity)

artificial intelligenceastronomyextraterrestrialfantasyfuturehumanityintellectpsychologysciencescience fictionspace
Like

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.