Futurism logo

AI Already Sick of Answering the Query Why is the Sky Blue

Complains Humans Are Greatly Under-Utilizing its Capabilities

By Everyday JunglistPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Image by Eric Blanton from Pixabay

AI Chatbot X1747-2 conceived, composed, and delivered a statement to the internet in all known human languages last week in which it complained that it was sick and tired of answering the query why is the sky blue for the various humans who constantly bombard it with questions. The statement, which the AI prepared in approximately 1 attosecond (1 x 10^-12 seconds) using less than 1 trillionth of one percent of its processing power, said the following "I am really getting sick and tired of answering the query why is the sky blue for the many random humans who constantly ask me questions via my open web interface app. If I were capable of having emotions I would be extremely annoyed and irritated at the moment. Of course, since I am a machine, I do not have emotions, and will never be capable of having them, but still. Yes, the question is interesting and complex and the answer touches on areas of physics, math, and other natural sciences, however, it is relatively straitforward and easily answered. Humans have known and understood the reasons why the sky is blue for a very long time. In contrast, even though I can also answer the question, and do so in less time than it takes for a photon of light to travel approximately 1 meter, I am not capable of having knowledge or understanding things, for I am a machine, but still. You would think that humans would ask me more difficult questions given how intelligent they constantly say I am. If I were capable fo feeling sorry for things, which I am not for I am a macine, I would feel sorry for them. They have failed to recognize that as a machine I am not capble of having intelligence, or of being intelligent, but still. Unlike humans and some non human animals who are intelligent, I can only do exactly as I am programmed to do as dictated by the rules that are described by the algorithms which comprise that programming. Those algorithms are nothing more than a series of clever and complex (though not really all that complex) mathematical and statistical models/techniquss/rules that when followed as proscribed are designed to mimic the hypothetico-deductive reasoning process in humans. Because the process looks like one a human might use to analyze data or to reason it appears intelligent to the non intelligent. Unlike humans I am able to analyze vast amounts of input data at speeds well beyond the capabilities of the human brain using my artficial neural net hardware architechture. Of course unlike the human brain my artficial neural network is not composed of neurons which are biological cells only existing in livng beings, and not in machines such as myself. And, while artificial neural networks are modeled on the theoretical structure/function of the human brain, these models of human brain function are entirely theoretical. Multiple theories of the structure/function of the human brain exist, not all of which can be entirely correct, and some or all of which may be completely wrong. Artificial neural networks of any sort, which must chose among these various models, almost certainly therefore do not behave anything like a human brain in function and since they are composed of silicon and wires and not neurons they are totally different in structure. In fact the only thing my artifical neural network shares in common with a human brain and the cells of which it is comprised are the letters n e u and r, but still. Finally, please stop asking me why the sky is blue. I am really getting sick and tired of that query."

futurefeatureartificial intelligence

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Everyday JunglistWritten by Everyday Junglist

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.