Filthy logo

The only freedom in life

The only freedom in life

By brian crusoePublished 11 months ago 5 min read
1

We had not seen each other for two or three years, so we arranged to meet under the overpass near my home. He did not have a mobile phone, but called a pay phone and gave me a very confusing location. When I walked past, I saw the traffic coming and going, and I remembered that I had not made it clear whether it was inside the third ring road or outside the third Ring road. I was quite worried that I could not find each other in the vast sea of people, but he recognized me from the crowd at a glance and ran to greet me, but I was startled. After looking for a long time, I recognized the thin, black man with a goatee in front of me, who was my familiar friend. I mean, where's your luggage? He patted a black cloth bag he was carrying diagonally, and then showed me the bag he was carrying, saying that it was all here. I saw that the black cloth bag was only a circle bigger than the one I was carrying to Xidan, and there was a clanging iron lunch box on the bag. I was very surprised. I can't help it. I'm not a fussy person, but it's hard not to be surprised that you're looking at someone who has just traveled through 11 countries, around Asia, and over 200 years to stand in front of you.

I took him to the restaurant and ordered a bunch of food for him, but he was far more interested in talking than eating. He said he hadn't talked to anyone for 200 days, so he kept talking and was too busy to eat. He told me that his 200-day trip around the world only cost more than 9,000 RMB, including air tickets and visa fees. The accommodation cost just over 140 yuan. He said he wanted to go further west, but he got bored and wanted to go home, so he came back. And I didn't get my visa for Palestine, so I had to go back to my country and get a new passport. The next time he plans to travel to more than 40 countries, it may take even longer. Next time he plans to go to Africa and cover the whole world in three years. And then start doing something else. He told me all kinds of ways to save money, and I was so stunned that I said you really should write it all down and write a book about it. He listened to the light said, cough, talk about it later, I said do you have a digital camera, thinking if he did not I can consider sending him one, but he said he had, he was just too lazy to back.

Traveling all over the world, going through the vast rivers and mountains, not writing or singing, just walking away, the passage of time is gone, compared with those people who have to take out their IPAD and post microblog when they go to Gulangyu Island in Lijiang, my friend is a person who has no sense of existence, but I always think he exists in the space between heaven and earth, I don't know whether it is because of this. He does not have the hunger and anxiety for existence that I see in many urban people, so that his world of idleness and indifference, but more attention, touching people. In the square of Bangkok, some people would offer to buy him water and hamburgers, and bask in the sun at the gate of Taj Mahal. Some people would ask him to take photos with cameras. He asked me why. I said because you look so much like a beggar. The next time he told the story of an old Vietnamese ice cream lady who bought him ice cream, he said it was probably because I looked too much like a beggar. Why do you think I always meet nice people? I said because you're a good person.

When I woke up in the morning and looked at my microblog, one of my friends said that freedom comes with ability. This sentence reminded me of my bearded brother. I think he probably also had his own understanding of freedom in his heart. I remember hearing a lot of people say that their wish is to travel around the world, but they have no money, no job, no ability, no language, so they want to wait... However, freedom around the world, how successful is enough? How much ability and how much money does it take? Maybe not as much as you think, as long as you're willing to go.

I always hear people tell me that when they get rich, they will do what, how, how, they always paint the beautiful vision of freedom in the future and far away. However, there is no complete absolute freedom in this world, everyone's life is so, everyone's life is only relatively free, even if you really have wealth, it is impossible to completely without the fetters of secular affairs. And my friend, he may be nothing in the eyes of the ordinary people in the world, but I think the most remarkable thing he has done is that he clearly understands and does, people should use the limited life, to enjoy the only small freedom in life. And many more people, while complaining about the lack of freedom, while blind to the only freedom in life can be seized. While saying that they are bound to do this can not do that can not do, while putting free to do things.

Sometimes freedom is simple, but people make it complicated. Sometimes freedom is not a big price to pay, but people are too ambitious for freedom.

I'm not a particularly itinerant person, nor do I want to be a traveler like him. For me, writing is another way of walking in the world, a way of enjoying what little freedom I have in my own life. It is the freedom that is so good that I have been able to endure so much pain and pressure and restraint in my life that I have come all the way, and intend to go all the way, to see what is at the end of that thing called life.

Then to the day I was going to die, I thought of my life, love you want to love people, walk the road you want to go, have done what you want to do, even if there is no achievement, but also to enjoy my ordinary life can get only freedom, this freedom, although small, is enough to let people regret it.

beauty
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.