Fiction logo

Yeti Encounter

Mountain Attack

By Everyday JunglistPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
Image by license from Adobe Stock

The Yeti came out of nowhere. The wind was howling and all I could see was blowing snow and ice and blackness and then suddenly it was there right in front of me. The creature had to be at least twelve feet tall. It's fur was white as purest snow, but matted and coated in ice. Disturbingly, blood could been seen, no doubt from a recent kill, dripping from the giant fangs which protruded from its bear-like face. When it roared the blood flew from its mouth splashing in rivulets on the snow, melting it partially where it landed and turning it from white to red. I was so close that some of the blood splattered across my face. I could taste the iron in it as it dripped down along into the corners of my mouth. I spat out the acrid blood and immediately reached for my sidearm. Fortunately I had just removed my gloves as I had stopped to light a fire or surely I would have had no chance. I drew the gun as quickly as possible and fired off three shots in quick succession. The noise was deafening as it echoed off the canyon walls. The creature fell back just as an avalanche, triggered by the noise of the gun crashed down upon us both. We fell together, tumbling down the side of mountain carried away by the rushing snow mixed with mud and rocks. I blacked out then and awoke five days later. Still alive.

MicrofictionAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Everyday Junglist

Practicing mage of the natural sciences (Ph.D. micro/mol bio), Thought middle manager, Everyday Junglist, Boulderer, Cat lover, No tie shoelace user, Humorist, Argan oil aficionado. Occasional LinkedIn & Facebook user

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Oh no! The guy killed him! You might sometime check out my snow micro series with BF in the subtitle (in order) - you might get a kick out of them.😉 They begin with 0115PNW.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.