Fiction logo

What are some of the most interesting stories of placements at IIT to date?

Interesting stories of placements at IIT to date

By Praveen Sharma Published 3 years ago 5 min read
4
What are some of the most interesting stories of placements at IIT to date?
Photo by Leon on Unsplash

The following incident happened in December 2012 at IIT Guwahati. It relates to a famous gamer of our college, who was popularly known as DOTA. I was the placement representative for the CS branch at that time.

Flashback - Dec 4, 2012

It is about 4:30 P.M. The interviewers of ABC company are in a hurry. They have got a flight to catch at 7. The airport is an hour’s drive from our college. Even as a few candidates are standing outside, they begin packing up. The last few candidates are rejected after they have barely spent 20 minutes in the interview room.

While the interviewers are having the final round of handshakes with the placement team, Saurabh rushes in from the opposite side. He recounts his story to me. He had been shortlisted by ABC after the written test, but he had spent the past few hours being interviewed by another company. It had ended with a rejection.

While ABC company’s two-member interviewing team is walking towards the exit, I rush to join them. We walk and talk at the same time. I promptly explain the situation of Saurabh. One of the interviewers who graduated from college last year makes a face. “Clearly, he is more interested in going to the other company. We are second-rate for him.”

Saurabh makes an impassioned plea. “Sir, our placement cell has certain rules. Whichever company releases the shortlist first, we have to sit in that company. But, I know, your company does really exciting work. I have always wanted to do application development. Please, sir, consider my candidature. You will not regret your decision.” Simultaneously, I also chip in with a few words about Saurabh’s sincerity.

Interviewer (after some thought): "Well Saurabh, we don't have enough time. How can we test your fundas?"

Saurabh (without batting an eyelid): “Take my interview on your way to the Airport, in Taxi.”

Interviewer (visibly impressed): “What if we don’t select you? The city is quite far”.

Saurabh: ”Don’t worry sir. It's been quite a long since I visited the city. It will be a refreshing change.”

The interviewer smiles.

Round 1 [5:00 P.M.] [Dec 4 2012]

The car ride lasts for an hour. First, they grill him on object-oriented programming. He correctly answers all the questions.

Next, they ask him questions about Hadoop. It is one of those projects which you mention just to decorate your CV. He is stumped. But somehow manages to crawl his way back. They tell him that his technical skills are more than satisfactory.

As the car enters into the final few minutes of the drive, they ask him the much-awaited question, “Why do you want to join this company?”.

Saurabh, who has crammed everything that google threw up on this question gives an impressive list of reasons. (Start-up and all that shit). Even, the interviewer pauses to think if he is working in that good a company. He asks this question in two-three different ways. Saurabh dutifully gives a different answer each time.

The interviewer just shakes his head and says. “You are giving all mugged-up answers yaar.” I want to hear something from your heart.

Saurabh is lost for a moment. His heart only wants to say, “Sir, please le lo na.” But he repeats his previous answer in a more desperate tone.

The interviewer gives him an E-Mail ID and tells him to send his response on that.

Round2 [9:00 P.M.] [Dec 5,2012] [Saurabh receives the call]

He asks him some technical questions which Saurabh easily answers.

The interviewer asks Saurabh the same question again. “Why do you want to join this company?”

Saurabh gives a frank answer. “Sir, to tell you the truth, I don’t really know why I want to join this company.”

The interviewer tells him to think it over during the night and promises to call him the next day.

Round 3 - Dec 6, 2012 [11:00 A.M.] [I am the one who receives the call]

Interviewer: So, is Saurabh placed yet?

Me: No sir. But have you made up your mind about him?

Interviewer: I will, soon. But, tell me something about Saurabh. Is there anything special about him?

I help myself to a smile before venturing.

Me: Oh Sir! you don’t know. He is the best player of DOTA in the college. When I see the passion with which he plays, I know one thing for sure. Any company, that hires him will have a gem of an employee if they play their cards right. His CGPA might be low but he is honest and smart. If he likes doing something he does it brilliantly.

The interviewer himself is pretty excited by this time. He thanks me for his time.

Round 4 - Dec 6,2012 [11:15 A.M.] [Saurabh receives the call]

Interviewer: Your placement secy has rather sold you well. I just want to make sure that he was not exaggerating. What is your rank on Top Coder?

Saurabh (who is lost for words): Ummm… I haven’t actually done much competitive programming. But I have solved a lot of problems with my local machine. If you want I can send the code to you.

Interviewer: No-No. That won’t be required. It seems that you have played a lot of DOTA and Counter-Strike in college. is that true?

Saurabh (with pride in his voice): Yes Sir. In fact, I am one of the best.

Interviewer: I won’t doubt it. Even I fancy myself as a bit of a CS player. But there is no big deal in being the best. Have you done anything special in that?

Saurabh: Sir, I used to host the CS 1.6 server.

Interviewer (chuckles loudly): You can do better than that. Tell me something big.

Saurabh (wondering if he should mention his high score) : Sir, I have created a local interface for banning yourself. You know, how we CS players are. When we are hooked onto the game, we don’t care whether there is a quiz,mid-sem, or end-sem. So, if a player is fed up with himself and wants to prevent himself from playing, then he can just open the site and hit the "Ban Me" button. After his IP is recorded it will be placed in the appropriate file and he will not be allowed to play again.

Interviewer: Wow! That’s really cool man. Why didn’t you tell me about this before? But, I have seen people being destroyed by CS. What if we tell you to concentrate on your work and stop playing CS?

Saurabh: I will work day in and day out to complete my work. But I won’t stop playing DOTA.

Interviewer: Good. I like the honesty. When is your next interview?

Saurabh (glancing at the watch): After 15 minutes.

Interviewer: Forget that interview. I am hiring you. Congratulations!

Needless to say, Saurabh played DOTA day and night after that. :P

I hope you liked the story if yes please give heart to this story and motivate me through the Tip option below.

Thank you very much

Have a great day!

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Praveen Sharma

I am a professional writer and I have started writing on different social media platforms such as Vocal media. I have a keen interest to write on lifestyle, motivational stories, facts and photography, which's my absolute favourite.

I ❤️✍️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.