Humans logo

How do you know what women want?

How do you know what women want?

By Praveen Sharma Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
How do you know what women want?
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

How do you know what women want?

Let me tell you my story about all this, hope you won't feel bored during this.

It took almost five years of marriage before I finally figured this out… this one thing that I didn’t have, that my wife (and apparently most women) really, really want in a man: opinions.

Happy Couple

Opinions about everything.

Even if you don’t really care about something… fake it. Pretend to care. Pretend to have an opinion. It will make your woman happy. Trust me.

What should we have for dinner?

Old me: Whatever. It all tastes good to me.

New me: Chicken Pad Thai from that place down the street. (In reality, I still don’t really care. But at least I’ve stated an opinion.)

You get bonus points if you have opinions about fashion, interior design, or shows that air on the Bravo network.

What colour should we paint this room?

Old me: Whatever. Actually. What colour is it now? Let’s keep it that colour and save some money and time.

New me: Benjamin Moore regal select, eggshell white, in a matte finish. (In reality, I honestly don’t care. I just threw out some words that I know have something to do with paint colours, so it sounds like I have an opinion.)

The ultimate way to drive your woman wild with lust for you is to state an opinion about interior design without being asked:

Me, out of nowhere: I saw this new vanity at Home Depot that I thought would look great in the upstairs bathroom. That and a little crown moulding would really perk up that room. It would give the whole room a more colonial vibe. [Braces as wife literally throws herself into my arms.]

I mean I fall into the category of a young woman but I only really agree with the part about respect, and a little bit about excitement as well.

I think making broad statements like 'young women want' is just generalizing a lot of stuff that probably isn't true for a lot of the young women you're talking about.

For instance, I know a lot of young women who think very heavily about the future, I'm one of them. And if I didn't see myself having a future with a guy, I didn't waste my time with him either.

I have been told that I have a very solid plan, whereas other people usually struggle with what they want to do when they get out of high school, I knew what university to attend, what degree I wanted and now I know what law school I'm hoping for.

Telling me I don't plan for the future is quite laughable and there are plenty of young women who do think in terms of the future.

For instance, pretty much every single girl at my university has clearly considered her future at some point or she wouldn't be getting a degree. I was already planning a long-term future with my boyfriend when I was 19.

I probably have been on one date my entire life with a guy who used moronic approaches. The rest were all respectful and perfect gentlemen who took me nice places, opened the door for me, gave me their jackets.

I mean I had these dates clear back in high school. So I certainly wouldn't say I was inexperienced with men treating me with respect. If they didn't treat me with respect there wouldn't be another date.

I also wouldn't know what to do with a guy who took me out on the pretence of a date and then acted like my friend. Do you want to date me, or do you want to be my friend? And why are we operating under other personas?

I do like excitement but if I found out a guy lied to me about something he did, with the sole purpose of manipulating me into liking him the consequences would have been catastrophic.

I value honesty above almost all else, certainly above petty lies and fake achievements. And besides, I'm not sure what achievements you could say would really impress me.

I tend to judge people based on how well I connect with them, how trustworthy they are, how compatible we are, how nice and respectful they are. I would treat a doctor the same way I'd treat a truck driver.

I don't care what you do for a living (I plan on making my own very comfortable income), I don't care where you've travelled or haven't travelled to, or what your skill set is.

I care about if you're honest, if you're kind, respectful and if we get along. That's it. Anything else is just a nice extra but holds no sway over my decision of you. A guy could be a billionaire who speaks 10 languages but if I don't feel a connection I'd have no qualms pushing him aside for the nice garbage man who makes me laugh.

But then again if we're only talking about one night stands and hook-ups I can't say much, I've never been the 'hook-up' kind of girl. I'm just glad I found the love of my life when I did and I've never looked back since.

Hope your advice helps someone out there. But be careful when generalizing what all young women want. There's always going to be the ones who see right through such a guise.

I hope it was helpful to you all, if yes give heart to this story and use the tipping option to keep me motivated.

Have a great day ahead

Thank you

dating
Like

About the Creator

Praveen Sharma

I am a professional writer and I have started writing on different social media platforms such as Vocal media. I have a keen interest to write on lifestyle, motivational stories, facts and photography, which's my absolute favourite.

I ❤️✍️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.