Fiction logo

Vibrant Wells

You never know what the vibrant wells may contain, how they may help you, how they may help another.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 10 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - July 2023
31
Vibrant Wells
Photo by Jimmy Chang on Unsplash

Skin singed, toes torched, fingers fractured, body battered, bones bruised. Scottie dragged his corpse along the hard and unforgiving dirt. Life had gotten to him again. Life kept getting to him and kept beating him down, holding him down. But he pressed on.

Scottie pulled himself along, bit by bit, each stretch and pull with his arms a monumental effort. Bland dirt passed by on all sides. Nothing else. Flat plains. And then ahead… a vibrant well. One of many vibrant wells of the world.

Scottie had encountered these many times around. But he hadn’t seen one in a bit. And this was exactly what he needed. A robed being stood up by the vibrant well. The vibrant well glowed many colors, neon orange, deep purple, yellow, blue, maroon… all colors at once… and each color one at a time… all at the same time. Making sense of this with human eyes was the same as trying to determine what exactly iridescent was. The robed being next to it, simple dark colors, muted.

The robed being simply motioned towards the bucket that hung on the vibrant well. Scottie lifted himself up, heaving, gasping for air. He clutched the bucket and stopped for a moment to catch his breath. Life had been rough. Life had kicked him in the lungs. Life had posed as a loved one and then twisted the blade in his back when he turned. Scottie’s body quivered.

He lowered the bucket into the vibrant well. It dipped into floating goodness. He felt it increase with weight so he lifted it back up. The liquid inside glowed the same as the well. Scottie gulped the liquid down. It tasted herbal. It tasted floral. It washed over his soul with love. His fingers straightened and healed and were kissed with soft warmth. He breathed easier.

Scottie dipped the bucket in once more. He pulled it back up and drank down the contents once more. It was spicy with goodness and sweet all at once. It tickled his senses so much he laughed. He tingled all over and he felt alive. He felt strong. Electricity coursed through every cell of his body and he stood firm and at attention.

He held the empty bucket over the well ready to lower it and stopped to look at the robed being. He noticed the slender frame of the being beneath the robe as the being stood perfectly still.

“Once more?” Scottie asked.

“Have at it.” The being responded in a sullen, light voice. “I will be closing the vibrant well down. You might as well take all you can.”

“What?! Why would you close it down?!” Scottie screamed.

“It isn’t just me. Many of the vibrant wells are being closed down.” The being slouched as she talked. “Many of us are unsure of the point of them remaining open. They were opened to help. We are unaware they are doing that.”

“Of course they help!” Scottie shouted. “It’s helping me right now. You have no idea how much it helps me to get through… all of it.”

“That is nice to hear… but this exact sentiment… we rarely hear it. If ever. We do not seek gratitude. But we wish to know that our endeavor is having any effect. We fear it is not.”

Scottie looked down at his body. Healed. Happy. He looked back to the being.

“I am living proof that it is having a tremendous effect.” Scottie told the being. “And there are so many others out there… they are living proof. Maybe they don’t say anything. Maybe they can’t for one reason or another. Or they don’t think to. But believe me… your creations… they are doing so much good. You and all the others like you. What you do is important even if you don’t hear that it is. Know that it is. It’s saving people. It’s bringing joy to people that desperately seek it. It’s bringing many good feelings to people that lack them. Please don’t stop doing what you’re doing. Please don’t stop creating.”

The being stood stall. Her head lifted. She nodded.

“Have you ever thought of creating?” The being asked.

“I have. I did. I haven’t contributed to my well in quite some time. I don’t know if…”

“Maybe someone is waiting for you to create as well.” The being said bluntly.

Scottie smiled. He dipped the bucket in once more. He drank slowly this time and savored it. Bitter flavors swirled with sweet, something hit him sharply in his jawline and made him salivate. He smiled as a sense of adventure surged through him. He could see a waterfall and a forest and felt as if he was sprinting through it. He could smell pine and he could feel wet dirt between his toes.

“You may never know the impact you’re having with this.” Scottie said. “But you are having an impact. And it’s massive.”

The being nodded. Scottie said goodbye and left.

Days later Scottie found his neglected vibrant well. It was still operational but it was dry. He went home. He was about to put on the robe that hung in the closet and collected dust but he stopped. He stepped back outside and let the sun shine over his face.

He sat by the vibrant well, pad in hand, fingers pressed against it. He felt the softness of the pad as he slid his fingers back forth, in a swirling motion, etched them in all patterns, all motions. He removed his fingers and the pad was littered with colorful designs. Scottie smiled. He dropped the pad into the well. He heard a thud, followed by a splash, a gentle flowing, sloshing, bubbling.

He looked inside the well and a colorful liquid rose to near the top. It surged through the colors of the rainbow and back again all while it sparkled and glittered. Scottie took in the sight for a moment and then walked away. Scottie marched home, but he took the long way. He passed by another vibrant well where another robed being stood, pad in hand. The robed being’s arms hung lifelessly, the pad dangled from tired fingers. The being noticed Scottie walking by so Scottie waved and smiled.

“Don’t stop creating. Ever. You might be someone’s savior.”

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

FantasyShort Story
31

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Lucero King9 months ago

    The opening sentence was masterful alliteration and captivated me from the very start. “Skin singed, toes torched, fingers fractured, body battered, bones bruised.”

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is so well written. I really felt like you were talking to me directly. Loved everything about this. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    "Keep Creating." The best advice I've heard today. This was a wonderful story full of hidden messages. Thanks for sharing. And congrats!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    This is a “vibrant” allegory. You inspire me because it seems your well never runs dry. But I guess every creator has moments where they wonder if what they’re doing is all for nothing. I have those moments at least once a week. 😭 Congrats on a well deserved Top Story! 🥂

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Oh wow. What a fantastic story. The message from your vibrant is inspiring me. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece a d congrats on the TS.

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    Scottie came across strong. I loved the last line.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Congratulations on this deserved recognition, Stephen. I'm thankful I don't have to eat my shoes now. 🏆

  • JBaz10 months ago

    Congratulation, I kind of expected this to be a top story

  • Naveedkk 10 months ago

    Impressive achievement! Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Cool 😎 and Congratulations on your Top Story😉🎉🎉🎉

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Oh, man, what a brilliant metaphor! Thanks for this one, Stephen. Absolutely worthy of the Top Story!

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Vibrant Well: Love it!!! Brilliant; Original!!!

  • Tom Chacina10 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story, well deserved Stephen

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Just a beautiful and intricate story of philosophy and creation! Love it❤️keep up your fantastic work! Congratulations on top story💕

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    I’m going to be thinking about this one for awhile!!! I absolutely loved where you went with it ❤️❤️❤️

  • JBaz10 months ago

    What a wonderful idea, brilliant. There are so many layers to this, I love it. Stephen, you hooked me with curiosity and kept me reading with your beautiful writing and story.

  • Stephen, whatever the contents of the vibrant well did to Scottie, your story did to me! Sometimes, I wish I can just close down my well because I feel like I'm helping no one. But now I guess I'll keep creating. Thank you so much for this story!

  • Isaac Ong10 months ago

    This is great. I definitely drank from your vibrant well today :) From the beginning I had a sense that this might be a personal sentiment disguised as fiction, since I have a story in my drafts with a similar beginning, haha. My story got rejected by the editors as they didn't understand the ending, which i rushed because i couldn't find a suitable resolution. Your story is a great answer to dealing with our despair, and might just be the inspiration i need for my story :) :P

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • This is an absolutely beautiful fable with such a simple but important message. Thanks for sharing it with us, Stephen.

  • Test10 months ago

    Vivid, unique, inspirational. This is the best I have read from you, Stephen! What a wonderful story!!!! "Don’t stop creating. Ever."

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    I’m so invested in Scottie’s mental health now !! This line really hit me deep!!! “Life had posed as a loved one and then twisted the blade in his back when he turned. Scottie’s body quivered.” This story was very impressive and well told. The main character was so relatable.

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Oooo! I want to know more! Why is Scottie constantly broken and beaten down? What are the magical beings that watch over the vibrant wells? Why has Scottie neglected his, yet expects others to keep their operational? (These are all rhetorical, no need to answer, you've just got my curiosity flowing!) This story was super engaging from the beginning, and I think the premise would make a great fantasy novel. If you ever choose to expand, let me know, and I'll be among the first in line to read it.

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Oh my. I love love love this story with so many edges. Beautiful in composition, haunting in its message, encouraging with its hope. 🥰 if this isn’t a Top Story I will boil and eat my shoes. I’ve been rereading classics, currently Defoes - Robinson Crusoe. The pad Defoe dropped in the well hundreds of years ago is replenishing me in ways that amaze me. Thank you Sir Avitabile for nurturing the well. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.