Fiction logo

Micro Heist

The heist was micro but the loot was macro.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2023
63
Micro Heist
Photo by Sebastien LE DEROUT on Unsplash

”It’s a Micro Heist, mother fuckers!” Alec held out both arms, ink-guns at the ready. “No funny business or pages get blasted!”

David rolled in behind him calmly. He spotted a trembling teller at the 53rd Avenue Short Story Bank. He addressed her by her name tag.

“Bridget. We don’t want to hurt anyone. We want to be in an out. Where’s the Microfiction division?”

“I’ve only been here two weeks… let’s see…” Bridget collected her thoughts. “Flash fiction end of the hall. Sudden fiction the door before, no, there’s no Microfiction section. We have Postcard fiction…”

“I ain’t even heard of Postcard fiction!” Alec leapt off the table. “This is bullshit! No micro?! Lady! We do quick jobs! In and out!”

“Relax, Alec.” David led him to a red velvet door. “We’re jacking words today.”

This Short Story Bank didn’t have a micro section. They’d make their own micro. They stole words permanently from short story use.

David got his hands on “peculiar” and “juxtaposition” and “zealous.” Heavy Scrabble type shit.

Among others, Alec nabbed “once.”

“Can’t start a story off without this baby!”

They scampered off, verbiage bags filled to the brim.

Stories were never the same since.

Microfiction
63

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Very clever

  • Isaac Ong10 months ago

    Hahaha

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    I can't believe I missed this, but this was so funny I laughed out loud! I loved this story so much!

  • Samia Afra10 months ago

    Too funny

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I liked this but didn’t comment, I’ve been a bit absentminded on Vocal lately! Just playing catch up with your stories now. This was hilarious. It reminded me of that story you did about the bartender who gives people stories instead of cocktails. It’s something only you would think to write! I love the originality, and I have to say, I find words more valuable than money. This was my kinda heist!

  • So much whimsy & fun.

  • Dana K Renfro11 months ago

    I absolutely loved this.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins11 months ago

    LOL seriously, this should be a movie; I'd definitely watch it! Excellent story!

  • You are a Genius for this Amazing tale❤️😉📝 I smiled really hard while reading❗ Thanks for sharing your creativity🎉 Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉

  • Meagan Dion11 months ago

    Oh, this is amazing! Wonderful, I love it!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Very creative and very entertaining piece !! I enjoyed this and the whole scenario…😀😀😀♥️Congratulations 🎉 on your top story 🎊💕

  • MT Poetry11 months ago

    Wow, this is amazing!!! 💕This is pure brilliance! Your clever take on the challenge is simply outstanding, and your storytelling skills are top. This is the kind of writing I've always loved.✍👌🙌

  • Lena Folkert11 months ago

    Oh man. FANTASTIC! A greatly clever take on the challenge and the kind of storytelling that I've always loved! Subscribed!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    That was oh so clever and just plain fun! Really wonderful work!! And the 'heavy Scrabble type shit' cracked me up. Congratulations on a well deserved Top Story :) You have a new subscriber.

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Beyond Clever and fun work Stephen. This story is absolutely entertaining! Congratulations 🥇

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Oh forgot! Congratulations on Top Story!! Pauline 🌸

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    I LOVE this! I I also read it to a friend over coffee. Totally unexpected take. Reflective of every aspect of the Challenge and more. My insights are glitching but I would have added every one. ‘They scampered off, verbiage bags filled to the brim.’ A special appeal to me. I was a University librarian in one of my own life chapters. Thank you for publishing! What a wonderful way to start the day (Saturday 10 June 8.27 am in Brisbane, Queenland, Australia) Pauline 🌸

  • Kelley Stead11 months ago

    This is soooo clever and cool. Great take on the challenge!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎈 🎊

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Creative!!! Yeah! It made Top Story, Congratulations!!!❤️💕

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    What a strange and ____ tale! Clever take on the challenge - so meta!

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Great one, Stephen! Why would David want to have juxtaposition? Such a bulky word! I'd say if they were to get caught, it would cost them several life sentences!

  • Hannah E. Aaron11 months ago

    This is amazing! I am super impressed by how developed Alec and David are as characters in this microfiction piece! Great, great job!

  • Kim Loostrom11 months ago

    Witty and very entertaining, love this piece!!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great. Congrats on the TS

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.