Fiction logo

Undulating

Imaginary Heady Romance

By Ann EmechetaPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3
Undulating
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

saw his dark smiling silhouette and was hooked. What seized my attention was his rich laughter, he was hurling cartons of beer from the boot of a 505 Peugot car, I was awed by the camaraderie two young adults shared. While he continued the spate, I placed my orders, hung around longer than necessary, stealing glances at him, hoping to be noticed.

I was enthralled. It was the laughter, the easy gait, and bubbly cheer. I wanted to share the joy and spiritedness he exuded. He seemed oblivious to the wave of sadness in the atmosphere, the sincerity of his laughter soaked up every inch of melancholy, I was enraptured.

There was no laughter at home. The daily grind, caring for a sick husband, nine children and the scare of the sudden inexplicable physical and financial decline of father had driven mum into routine spiritual exercises. Our once ever-present dad was always reading, writing and muttering prayers. He spared sometime to tell us stories about animals particularly the Tortoise and about his escapades during the Nigerian-Biafran war, a routine he less frequently kept till he came down with stroke which further blanketed any ray of joy.

His face was imprinted in my mind's eye, his voice, the rings of laughter, the easy gait of an athlete, the camaraderie, I was entrapped.

My fantasies was fulfilled in him, I had discovered a living Adonis. All evening, I mimicked his laughter, his poise and plotted our forever sequel. How the mind dreams, wonder and wander in imaginary scenes.

The plot was building, I had my mind set on our magical meeting, being swopped off my feet, the chemistry, the bond and the laughter filled home we will share forever. Oh! was I not the greatest plotter, I had envisaged the twist and turns, the savory ending were my knight in shining armor will rescue me from this dreary called life and take me on an adventure never told yet.

I imagined sitting in a secluded garden, watching the blue starry clouds, bailed from the bleak blanket of menacholy, reveling in the headiness of love, laughter, finally living. I wove the fine intricate details of the intimacy of our union, building the entire universe for just two.

As I wallowed in the wavy patterns of an imaginary happy ever after with my fantasy crush, I was knocked back into reality, by shouts, smell of burning and the hysteria during a fire. I heard my mum screaming, calling out to her nine children, I heard that my Pa had been wheeled out to safety, I had everyone shouting back that they were safe, I was transfixed, shocked at the smouldering balls that kept leaping and blazing. Why was no one calling out for me, why was i still in the brewing furnace while the head count was adjudged complete. I am here i tried to scream out but instead took in a large drag of smoke, I looked around seeking an escape route, but the fire blazed fiercely. Why wont anyone try to help me, I was becoming angry. I called out for help, I choked, sucking in more poisonous fumes.

I frantically looked around, engulfed by a maze of huge darkness, voices were now far away, I could not hear my mother screaming nor the rescue team. My eyes stung, struggling to keep awake, holding my shirt tightly over my nose and mouth. I fell, then suddenly jolted up, perspiring, my heartbeat racing amok. I screamed and felt strong arms grab me. Alas it was a feverish, wild dream. All imagined but saved.

SatireYoung AdultFantasyfamilyAdventure
3

About the Creator

Ann Emecheta

Hi I am EeeCee,

I studied Business Admin, Human Resources and Project Management.

I am a Research Consultant, a Digital Content Creator, and a trained Mental Health Counsellor.

I express my passion and explore the world through writing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Inyang Marshall Inyang II8 months ago

    It's a beautiful story that captures the essence of the human experience. The longing for a better life, the desire for love, and the hope that one day our dreams will come true. Your story is a reminder that we should never give up on our dreams, no matter how impossible they may seem. Keep writing and inspiring others with your words!

  • The mind swirls with so many pretty thoughts and ideas, harnessing and putting down these thoughts is the greatest challenge but once done, inspiration is limitless.

  • So Lovely I really loved it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.