Fiction logo

The Hunt Begins

24th March, Story #84/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a month ago 3 min read
17
Wow, AI. You did alright. Thanks.

I aim to write these so that you can enjoy them as stand alone stories, or one after the other. If you'd like to do the latter (they're all very short):

One

Two

Three

Four

Five

Six

Seven

++++++++++++

Chill night air bites my skin with damp teeth. It should be fresh up here, but there's an acrid tang, stinging my nose and throat on every breath. My ears are alive to the sound of enormous leathery wings, or talons on rock and loose scree.

My wrists chafe under the rope. A slack length of it has me tethered to a post, like a goat. I yank on it. The post shifts, but not much. I could waste strength that I don't have, trying to heave it out.

I prop a rock shard between my feet, and work the rope against the sharp edge. It's slow going. Every moment spent working through it, strand by strand, is time that should be spent fleeing back down the mountain. Rocks sliding under my feet, scrabbling in my panic-

If I make it, if I get back to the castle, I'll have wealth and power like I've never dreamed of. But better than that, I'll get to see my mother again. We'll sit and talk in the garden, and she'll tell me whatever it was that stilled on her tongue before...

But best of all, I'll get to live. It's this thought that snaps me from my reverie and I resume working the rope against the stone.

I hear it! The sound of loose rocks under its huge feet, just like I imagined, and the clack of enormous iron-like claws on those stones. I smell it, too. That acrid stink stronger and building, burning my nose.

I glance back and I wish I hadn't. It's even more massive than I pictured, black, but when it takes another stalking step there's a glint of gold under and between those knobbly scales.

Another step, another. Talons (also bigger than my mind conjured) send up sparks.

I'm sobbing in panic and yanking in desperation, and that's how the sharp edge slices the meaty bit of my palm.

I can hear its hissing intake of breath. I imagine the smell of my blood over it's tongue.

It's huge orange eyes become slits, and it hisses in my mind.

You! What are you doing here?

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 24th March at 23.58 - eek!

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 84 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads.

Short StorySeriesMicrofictionFantasyAdventure
17

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    Woah! More please!

  • Interesting twist! This is turning out to be another twist-filled piece LC!

  • Excellent tale and keep on keeping on

  • ROCK about a month ago

    WOW! In awe of your brain.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Excellent story.

  • Phil Flanneryabout a month ago

    Ever building.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fantastic tale!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Totally hooked. Can’t wait for the next.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Such incredible suspense building, L.C.! Love the surprise accusatory questioning at the end! As usual looking forward to the next installment!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Yikes! Next one please!!!

  • The dragon knows her? Didn't see that coming (unless this is going to turn into a dragon romance novel, lol).

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Great story for a great picture.

  • “M”about a month ago

    Great job ♡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.