Fiction logo

On the Day of the Hunt (VI)

18th March, Story #78/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
12
On the Day of the Hunt (VI)
Photo by Jules D Truman on Unsplash

I aim to write these so that you can enjoy them as stand alone stories, or one after the other. If you'd like to do the latter (they're all very short):

One

Two

Three

Four

Five

++++++++++++

Mother does love me. I know she does. So why do I also know she is lying when the words leave her mouth?

I feel the frustration and urgency build inside me like heat. I open my mouth and it surges out,

"Tell me what you're not telling me."

I see she almost does, too, but stops herself in time.

"Now, then, you know you don't speak to me like that," She flaps her hand in a dismissive gesture, her eyes roving over the green expanse of the royal gardens. Staff, attendants, housekeepers, gardeners, maids, men in armour with swords... everywhere.

"Listen... When you come back from the mountain," her words stumble and crack, but she holds them together and forges on, "Then I'll tell you. I promise."

I blink hard, courage wavering. If I crumble, she will, too, and that'll break me.

I wish she'd just say it. It's a shadow darkening the spring sky and hovering between us. We talk around it. The hours stretch, empty, this unsaid Thing rattling around in them... and yet still too short.

Palace guards politely inform us it's time for me to return to my rooms and prepare for dinner. Ugh. More food! I feel sick. Mother squeezes my hand tight in farewell, and lets herself be led away.

I submit myself to the powdering, pulling, lacing, braiding that follows, my mind wandering. I'd been so sure it would be me last night, and then it wasn't, and now I feel snipped free and adrift.

It's like the night before, but different. There's a dull, jaded feel. Maybe even these people can have too many feasts and parties? Smiles look tighter. Eyes flicker, awkward, embarrassed to land on any recycled element from the night before.

The table is set so there's no obvious empty place. We don't speak of the boy who didn't return. We eat, we watch the court dance, our names are dropped into the crystal bowl. The queen plucks one out, and in the moment before she reads the name, her gaze lands on me.

I'm not even afraid anymore. This is like a sigh, this is right. This is what I knew would happen.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding notes): 366

Submitted on 18th March at 22:34

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 78 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads.

Young AdultShort StorySeriesMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Had to step back a few I seem to have missed here.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    That mystery about the mother is just dangling there, so alluring! Well done L.C.!

  • "Matchmaker, Matchmaker, you know that I'm still very young. Please, take your time." At least that's what I'm leaning toward with the, "When you come back from the mountain." "And make [them] the perfect match."

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Sometimes mothers quiet because they love us. I am with you to read the next couple of chapters.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    I don’t want to say hurry up……. But hurry up already! Can’t wait to read what happens next. This series might be my favourite of yours so far.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Very interesting turn with your foreshadowing, LC. What does Mum know we wonder? Still loving it! Feel free to really drag it out. I won't mind at all!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Another great chapter. Bring it on.

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    What did the character win in the lottery? Very mysterious and brooding story! Great work 📖

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I'm still in the dark...what is going on? the suspense is building

  • Hmm.... the gaze meets.... but is that "really" what's happening? Looking forward to the next in this series!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.