Fiction logo

On the Eve of The Hunt

12th March, Story #72/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
19

I wasn't royal blood by their standards, but the King favoured me, I made sure of it. Now, see: the land prospers. Make no mistake: this is under my hand. Not the King's. He does his best, but it's my decisions that have brought us prosperity.

They say I'm beautiful, that I've aged well. They set great store by that. A flowering maiden can't hold a candle to my majesty and poise, they say. This is high praise from these little people, because they value youth above all else. That's absurd to me. Among my people, age is revered. It's associated with wisdom and success. Yet, naivete, too, has value. Being easy to manipulate makes them useful.

They say I've a presence. They're right: I've magic in my blood. A glamour is nothing to me.

So: every nine years, the people gather in the Great Square. I handpick the very best of the youngsters, and one of these is selected by lottery. We play out the age old trope: leaving him (or her) for the dragon. In return, we prosper in safety under the shadow of the dragon's wing.

This country used to be barren and poor, but now we are thriving.

I've always known I'd never bear him children. I pretended to grieve with him when my waistline stayed narrow, moon after moon. When pregnancies ended only in blood. The little ones I carried to term, he'd have considered deformed, monstrous. I'd have none near me when my time came. I birthed them alone, wrapped them and left them on the mountainside for the dragon.

Now, I'm past the age I could feasibly bear children. It was easy to convince him that one who could evade the dragon would be a suitable heir. All she (or he) has to do, is return to the castle.

I tread the same path I trod with those sad little bundles. I whisper to the dragon, as I've done before.

This one must live. It must be a convincing hunt, but no lasting harm. We need her alive.

Hungry! he shouts into my mind.

I'll make alternative provisions for you. Be patient, Son.

++++++++++++

Word count (excluding note): 366

Submitted on 12th March at 23.29

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

Leave me a link to your own latest story, if I haven't already seen it!

If you enjoyed this story, the best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another.

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes a 72 day streak. I'm also putting them in my Index post.

Thank you

Thank you again! I do my best to reciprocate all reads.

Short StoryMicrofiction
19

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 2 months ago

    It is not written that she is the Queen, but surely she reigns above the King in her power. Off to see what else you have to share; intriguing!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Off to chapter 2. Intriguing.

  • I can't wait to see where this story goes. I'm going to get to part 2 and three in the next couple days

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    A succinctly conjured world.

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Oooh…a mother of dragons! An intriguing character and a well crafted story

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    You can have some fun with dragon stories, can't you. You must have quite the catalogue of them now. Great story.

  • Abdul Qureshi2 months ago

    it's a wow. one

  • JBaz2 months ago

    I like this fantasy approach you took. Great character and i like the story line.

  • Daenerys Targaryen in a slightly more conniving way. Delicious. I'd love to see you do more with this story, L.C.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    A god-like queen and an obedient dragon. Powerful pair. Planning a sequel? Inquiring minds want to know! Excellent storytelling and twist per always!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Okay that was epic! Great writing as always L.C.

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    That is some cruel genetics. Congrats on #72. Here's my #73 for tomorrow: https://vocal.media/fiction/f-u-j-i-m-o#comment-cedeb369-8e3a-43b0-8db7-991adb042872.

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Nice! Do any of the children ever make it back to the castle?

  • I knew it! I had a feeling she had to be a dragon... or at least related somehow to the dragon(s). Very nicely done LC!

  • NICE STORY BUT OH SO SAD ABOUT THE CHILDREN

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.