Fiction logo

The Frozen Pond Two

There is more to this pond than I thought.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The Frozen Pond Two
Photo by Jenny Salita on Unsplash

Taz replied, “You have one week to convince this city that I Taz come in peace, and if I do not see a humble heart within that week, the pond will stay frozen.” Tazi knew that she had her work cut out for her, but she disappeared into the frozen pond before she could ask Taz any more questions. Tazi said, “Well, I guess I will get to work, but first, I need to go back to the hotel and do some digging of my own.”

Tazi arrived back at the hotel to grab something to eat before she started her research on this frozen pond mystory; however, there were still so many unanswered questions, and to be truthful, she had no idea where to begin. Tazi decided to call her best friend Leroy to see if he could help her with the history and research of this fantastic frozen pond.

“Good morning Leroy, how are you this morning?” Tazi asked. “I am wonderful, and what can I do for you on this fine morning Tazi?” Leroy asked. “Well, I have a frozen pond situation here in Detroit, but I need help with doing some of the research first before I can even begin to piece the puzzle together on why this pond has been frozen for all these years. The people in this city seem to think that it is cursed, but I don’t believe that for one second.” Tazi replied. “I will see what I can come up with, but I haven’t heard anything on the news about this frozen pond that you are investigating. How did you come across this information with the frozen pond in the first place?” Leroy asked. Before Tazi could give him a response, the singing started all over again, and this time it made Tazi feel like her head was about to explode.

“Listen, Leroy, can I call you back in a couple of hours? My head is killing me, and I am not sure why?” Tazi said. “That’s fine with me. I should have the information that you are looking for by then, and if I don’t come up with anything right off hand, we will keep looking?” Leroy said. “Thank you so much for your help, and I look forward to hearing from you soon,” Tazi replied and disconnected the call.

In the meantime, Tazi thought to herself; I will take some pain meds for this headache I have received ever since I decided to take on this frozen pond mystery. After taking the pain meds, Tazi noticed that her headache was easing up a bit, but she also knew that this was not the time to feel ill. She made herself a quick sandwich, and out the front door, she went again right back to the frozen pond.

Upon her return, Tazi called out to Taz, but Taz did not answer at first. “Hello Taz, are you still here? Why are you hiding from me when it was you that was the one that called to me in the first place. What are you afraid of the outside of the people that live here in Detroit?” Tazi asked.

While Tazi waited for Taz to reply, her cell phone rang, and she quickly answered. “Hey Leroy, did you find out anything?” Tazi asked. “Well, from what I did come up with, the pond was frozen because of a death of a young lady that had magical powers, but here is the kicker. The young lady that died is supposed to be you, Tazi.”

“What in the world are you talking about, Leroy? I am not dead; I am on the phone with you right now. This better not be one of your famous jokes because I know how you like to clown a lot.” Tazi said. “No joke Tazi I am dead serious. Sorry about the dead part, but look, all we have to do is go to vital records and pull up this person’s death certificate to see if the dates line up with the other information that I found. I will not say anything else until I know that I have all of the facts straight. You are my best friend, and your life is everything to me, so in my world right now, you are in danger, and I need to find out why?” Leroy said.

“Okay, I understand what you are saying, and you are my best friend too, but this new information about me dying is scaring the crap out of me, Leroy. I have never encountered anything like this before, and I am distraught right now. Thanks for having my best interest at heart. I don’t know what I would do without you. Just keep me posted on the developments.” Tazi said.

Classical
2

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.