Fiction logo

The Frozen Pond.

What is the deal with this pond?

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
The Frozen Pond.
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

This pond has been frozen for years, and no one in this city knows why. Detroit is the place where this pond stays frozen. Tazi decided that she would take a trip to Detroit to see the problem surrounding this frozen pond.

At exactly four-thirty that morning, Tazi jumps out of bed, works out the knots in her feet, and jumps in the shower. While she is taking her shower, she begins to hear soft singing coming from far away. At first, Tazi just ignored it and continued showering. She heard it again, but a few steps closer, like the singing voices were right outside the bathroom door. Tazi quickly finished her shower and claimed out. While Tazi was drying herself off, she noticed that the singing representatives were now in her bedroom. Tazi promptly put on her bathrobe and softly went to her room. When she was in her room, the singing instantly stopped.

"Okay," Tazi said, "I just need to have my first cup of coffee, and I will be good to go singing voices or not."

By eight that morning, Tazi was in her Uber when her cell phone rang. "Hello, this is Tazi; how can I help you?" She replied.

The singing voices said, "the real question is what can we do for you?" Tazi immediately slammed the phone down and began to scream. The Uber driver begins to pull the car over when Tazi says, "I am sorry, ma'am, I have a disability." The Uber driver seemed to believe what Tazi had just said and began to drive again.

Tazi does not like to fly because she has never done it and because she feels like if she were meant to fly, she would have been born with wings instead of arms. So being that Tazi is not going to fly, she is going to take the train. Now Tazi would have taken the bus, but the train is cheaper, so she took the train instead.

Tazi made it safely to her destination in ten hours. She found herself smiling a lot during the ten-hour train ride to Detroit because she felt like she was about to make history with whatever she found out about this frozen pond for the first time in her life. As Tazi was checking into the hotel that she had made reservations for earlier that week, someone from behind her approached and asked about the frozen pond. Still, she wasn't giving up any information until she knew what she was dealing with. Tazi replied, "yes, I am here about this amazing mystery, but may I ask who you are?" "My name is Taz, and I am here to help you with your research on this frozen pond. This frozen pond has been like this for years, and none of us can figure out why so I hope that you are here to break this case for us so we can go on with our lives." Taz replied.

Tazi had so many questions about the history of the city itself. Still, before she could begin to ask more questions, Taz gently touched Tazi's arm and said, "we need to get going before anyone else decides to show up and destroy what we have already uncovered." As they both started walking to the car, Tazi noticed that Taz had a special glow about her; Tazi wanted to ask Taz why she was glowing but decided not to ask any other questions until they reached the frozen pond. When they both got to the frozen pond, Tazi turned around to begin asking the questions that she needed to start her research when she realized that Taz was nowhere to be found. When Tazi looked at the frozen pond, she saw Taz in the middle of the pond singing the same song that Tazi heard when she was at home getting ready for her trip to Detroit.

Taz said, "I know that this is all new and strange to you, but you, Tazi are the reason that I am here now. I had to freeze this pond because the people in this city have made it impossible for us to live and thrive together. So I took it upon myself to freeze this pond to prove a point."

Tazi replied, "now, what exactly is the point of freezing this pond when others need it for clean water to drink and cleanse themselves. I don't think that freezing the pond is the answer here; I understand some of what you are saying, but why would you do something like this to harm others?"

Taz replied, "I am not harming others; I need them to see and know that I am not their enemy I am their friend, but for centuries I have been bullied and called all kinds of nasty names just because of who I am, and for this reason, I chose to do this. Please understand that I need your help in convincing this city that I have the power to change things for the good or the bad. Will you help me with this, Tazi?"

Tazi replied, "sure, I have no problem with helping you, but first I need to see what you can do that is good because I already know what you can do that is bad."

As soon as Tazi made this statement, the pond began to dethawed right before her eyes, and she instantly looked shocked. Taz opened her mouth and started singing again, and the frozen pond was no longer fixed, but when she stopped singing, the pond froze up again. Tazi said, "so when you sing, the pond is not frozen, but when you stop singing, the pond freezes all over again? I do not understand any of this. I mean, seriously, how in the world do you expect me to communicate with people here about this frozen pond when you are the one that is doing this? On top of all of this, how much time do I have to convince others here in Detroit that you don't mean them any harm? If we do not get to the bottom of this soon, it is going to be a disaster just waiting to happen!"

Taz replied, "You have one week to convince this city that I Taz come in peace, and if I do not see a humble heart within that week, the pond will stay frozen." Tazi knew that she had her work cut out for her, but she disappeared into the frozen pond before she could ask Taz any more questions. Tazi said, "Well, I guess I will get to work, but first, I need to go back to the hotel and do some digging of my own."

Classical
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.