Fiction logo

Midnight Pursuit

I was trapped, alone and defenseless in the face of this monstrous predator.

By Willow PeddyPublished 15 days ago 4 min read
1
Midnight Pursuit
Photo by Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

The night was a shroud of darkness, broken only by the eerie glow of the moon. I stumbled through the dense forest, my heart pounding in my chest, my breath coming in ragged gasps. Somewhere out there, in the shadows, something was hunting me.

It had started innocently enough. A weekend camping trip with friends, a chance to escape the stresses of city life and reconnect with nature. But as the sun dipped below the horizon and the chill of night settled in, our laughter turned to unease.

We had heard the stories, of course. The legends of creatures that prowled these woods after dark, hungry for human flesh. We had laughed them off as campfire tales, the product of overactive imaginations fueled by too much beer.

But now, as I stumbled blindly through the underbrush, those stories seemed all too real. I could feel eyes watching me from the darkness, could hear the snap of twigs and rustle of leaves as my unseen pursuer closed in.

I tried to push myself faster, to put as much distance between me and whatever was out there, but my legs felt like lead, my lungs burning with exertion. Panic clawed at the edges of my mind, threatening to overwhelm me.

And then, just when I thought I couldn't run another step, I stumbled into a small clearing. Moonlight filtered through the trees, casting long shadows across the forest floor. In the center of the clearing stood an ancient stone altar, weathered and worn by centuries of exposure to the elements.

I staggered towards it, collapsing to my knees beside it, my chest heaving with exertion. For a moment, I allowed myself to hope that I was safe, that whatever was hunting me had lost my trail.

But then I heard it – a low, guttural growl that seemed to come from every direction at once. My blood turned to ice as I realized that I was not alone in the clearing.

I glanced around wildly, searching for any sign of my pursuer. And then I saw it – a pair of glowing eyes, burning like coals in the darkness. They were fixed on me, filled with hunger and malice.

Without hesitation, I scrambled to my feet and bolted into the forest once more, my heart pounding in my ears. I could hear the creature behind me, its heavy footfalls echoing through the night.

I pushed myself harder, ignoring the pain in my legs, the burning in my lungs. I had to keep moving, had to find a way to escape this nightmare.

And then, just when I thought I couldn't run another step, I burst into a clearing and skidded to a stop. Before me loomed an old, dilapidated cabin, its windows shattered, its roof sagging with age.

Desperate, I threw myself at the door, praying that it would open. To my relief, it did, and I stumbled inside, slamming it shut behind me and bolting it with trembling hands.

For a moment, I stood there, panting for breath, my heart still racing. And then I heard it – a low, menacing growl, coming from just outside the cabin.

I turned slowly, my eyes widening in horror as I saw the creature standing in the doorway. It was like nothing I had ever seen before – a hulking mass of fur and muscle, with razor-sharp claws and gleaming fangs.

I backed away slowly, my mind racing as I searched for a way out. But there was nowhere to run, nowhere to hide. I was trapped, alone and defenseless in the face of this monstrous predator.

And then, just when it seemed that all hope was lost, I saw something glinting in the corner of the room. It was a hunting rifle, propped up against the wall.

With a surge of adrenaline, I lunged for it, snatching it up in my hands. I turned to face the creature, my hands trembling as I raised the rifle and took aim.

For a moment, time seemed to stand still as I stared into the creature's glowing eyes. And then, with a roar of fury, I pulled the trigger.

The gunshot echoed through the cabin, reverberating off the walls. I watched in disbelief as the creature staggered backwards, a look of shock crossing its monstrous features.

But it didn't stay down for long. With a snarl, it lunged at me, claws outstretched, fangs bared.

I fired again and again, each shot ringing out like a death knell in the night. And then, finally, mercifully, the creature collapsed to the ground, its body still.

I stood there for a moment, panting for breath, my hands shaking with adrenaline. And then, slowly, I lowered the rifle and stepped over the creature's lifeless form.

I emerged from the cabin into the cool night air, blinking in the moonlight. The forest was silent now, the sounds of the hunt gone.

I had survived, but I knew that I would never forget the terror of being hunted in the darkness. As I made my way back to camp, I couldn't help but wonder – what other horrors lurked in the shadows, waiting to be unleashed on unsuspecting prey?

thriller
1

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.