Fiction logo

The Final Minute

The clock on the doctor’s wall echoed in the silent room. I sat there, stunned, as his words reverberated in my mind.

By Willow PeddyPublished 17 days ago 3 min read
Like
The Final Minute
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Tick. The clock on the doctor’s wall echoed in the silent room. I sat there, stunned, as his words reverberated in my mind.

“You have a terminal illness.”

Tick. My heart raced. I could feel the seconds slipping away, like grains of sand through my fingers.

“How long?” I managed to choke out, my voice barely above a whisper.

“Not long,” the doctor replied solemnly. “Maybe a few months, if we’re lucky.”

Tick. Panic washed over me like a tidal wave. My mind raced, trying to comprehend the enormity of what I had just been told.

“Is there anything... anything I can do?” I asked, desperation creeping into my voice.

The doctor shook his head sympathetically. “We can try treatments, but they won’t cure you. They might buy you some time, but...”

Tick. Time. The irony of it struck me like a lightning bolt. Time, that elusive thing we take for granted until it’s slipping away.

“Thank you, doctor,” I said, my voice barely audible over the ticking of the clock.

Tick. I stumbled out of the office, the world spinning around me. I needed air, I needed to think, I needed... something.

Tick. My phone buzzed in my pocket, jolting me back to reality. It was a text from my wife. “Where are you? Everything okay?”

Tick. I stared at the screen, tears welling up in my eyes. How could I tell her? How could I tell her that our future together was suddenly uncertain?

Tick. I took a deep breath and typed out a response. “I’ll be home soon. Just had a doctor’s appointment.”

Tick. I pushed open the door and stepped out into the bright sunlight. Everything looked the same, yet everything felt different.

Tick. The world rushed past me in a blur as I made my way home. People laughed and talked, oblivious to the turmoil raging inside me.

Tick. I reached our apartment building and climbed the stairs to our floor. Each step felt heavier than the last.

Tick. I stood outside our door, my hand trembling as I reached for the handle. This was it. The moment that would change everything.

Tick. I pushed open the door and stepped inside. My wife was sitting on the couch, a smile lighting up her face as she saw me.

Tick. “Hey, you’re home early,” she said, getting up to greet me. “Is everything alright?”

Tick. I opened my mouth to speak, but the words caught in my throat. How could I tell her?

Tick. She must have seen the anguish in my eyes because her smile faltered. “What’s wrong?”

Tick. I took a deep breath, trying to steady myself. “I went to the doctor today,” I said, my voice barely above a whisper.

Tick. Her brow furrowed in concern. “Is everything okay?”

Tick. I shook my head, tears streaming down my face. “No. No, it’s not.”

Tick. I sank onto the couch beside her, feeling the weight of the world pressing down on me.

Tick. “I have a terminal illness,” I said, the words tasting bitter on my tongue.

Tick. Her hand flew to her mouth, her eyes widening in shock. “Oh my god,” she whispered.

Tick. We sat there in silence, the seconds stretching into eternity. I wanted to hold onto this moment forever, to freeze time and stay in this bubble where nothing else mattered.

Tick. But the clock on the wall kept ticking, a constant reminder of the fleeting nature of life.

Tick. “What are we going to do?” she finally asked, her voice breaking the silence.

Tick. I looked into her eyes, seeing the fear and uncertainty mirrored in them. “We’ll make the most of the time we have,” I said, determination filling my voice.

Tick. “We’ll travel, we’ll laugh, we’ll love,” I continued, the words pouring out of me like a dam breaking.

Tick. “We’ll make every moment count,” she said, her voice steady now, her eyes shining with determination.

Tick. And in that moment, I knew that no matter what the future held, we would face it together.

Tick. The clock on the wall chimed the hour, its sound ringing out like a declaration of defiance.

Tick. Our time together may be limited, but our love was boundless.

Tick. And as we held each other close, I knew that in the end, that was all that truly mattered.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Willow Peddy

I am a 24yr old, looking for something in life to bring a spark of excitement and bring back my artistic and imaginative flare :)

I have strange and crazy dreams and people always tell me to write them down so here goes my dream diary!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.