Fiction logo

The Control

What Does It Do? Another for Mother Combs "Twisted Endings" Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
7
I Don't Know What This Is

This is another for Mother Combs "Twisted Endings" Challenge that you can read about here. It is inspired by a weird lighting control in the flat and is the second story inspired by this holiday

The Control

Whenever you get a new flat, even for a holiday, you need to find out where the light switches are, how the cooker works, and if you are privileged enough, the dishwasher and washing machine.

In the bathroom you need to get used to the shower and bath if you are double lucky, then check out the bedroom as well.

Also, the television is another adventure, but with the number of free streaming services these days, the biggest trial is usually waiting for the "touch of a button" software to load. Having said that it does amaze me that these days video plays without dropout on steaming platforms, negating the need for any form of physical media.

And then there is THAT control.

Yes it switches lights on and off but it is a massive control, with lots of electronic trickery inside it, with a single twirly button that switches the lights on and off and controls their brightness, but you know it has to do something else.

I kept messing about with it trying to see if it was touch-sensitive, or something. This was surely more than some oversized light switch. I was so concentrated on the switch and the lights going lighter and darker that I didn't notice what was happening around me.

It was, so I thought, about two in the afternoon, but as I turned the switch up to the max I noticed that outside it went dark. I switched on the TV and the time said it was eight o'clock at night, the evening football matches were fifteen minutes in and Manchester United were already one nil down again.

I then turned the switch back to the beginning and it was now eight o'clock in the morning and the commentators on breakfast TV were talking about Manchester United's match tonight being a must-win one for Erik Ten Haag.

I switched the control off and it was now five past two.

I switched it on again and turned it to the end, to find Manchester United two down and Ten Haag's job in the balance.

I had in my hand a time machine that could take me forward or backward six hours either way. I am not sure whether I need to be close to it or touching it, but my mind started having devious thoughts.

If I have access to media six hours in the future, then will I know how sports events such as football matches and horse races will turn out. Can I even check the results of the lottery?

I would start small and waited a few hours, til five pm then checked the lottery draw and wrote down the numbers, then I thought I have a phone, I can probably put the numbers in online. So I did.

I did the same with a football accumulator based on actual scores.

Shall we say at the end of the night I was wondering whether to hand my notice in there and then.

This was turning into my most lucrative holiday ever, and I didn't know if it was a dream or not. The money from the football bets was in my account and that was enough for me to retire off and the lottery jackpot was still transferring.

I sat here wondering whether to put an offer in for the flat, the control might only work in these surroundings and it is a great flat.

I'll wait til tomorrow and see if it is still working then, then I can make a decision.

Sci FiShort StoryMystery
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Whoaaaa, this was so fascinating! An excellent story for the challenge!

  • Carol Townend8 months ago

    This is just totally brilliant! Imagine if we had a light switch that could control everything. I'd be a millionaire overnight. Excellent work Mikey!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Marvelous story!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    This is great. "I'll think about it tomorrow" is the greatest Scarlett O'Hara strategy that can be applied to almost everything in life.

  • And if you're getting anxious for tomorrow to arrive, you can always move it up 6 hours. Of course, if you're still not quite sure, you can also add 6 hours to your time to decide.

  • Atomic Historian8 months ago

    I don't know what that is either. It looks like something from the ocean you shouldn't touch. Should probably toss it back, carefully.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.