Fiction logo

The Undulating Field

SometimesThings Are Not What Is Expected - For Mother Combs "Twisted Endings" Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago β€’ 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
28
An AI NightcafΓ© Creation By The Author

This is for Mother Combs "Twisted Endings" Challenge that you can read about here

The Undulating Field

I had a restless night and kept getting up for some reason, but I don't know why. Eventually, I decided I might as well just get up, so went to the bathroom shaved, cleaned my teeth, took a shower, took drugs and got dressed. It was six in the morning, and I was on holiday, so there was no need for me to be up at this unearthly hour, but I was and went to the kitchen and made coffee, instant, with oat milk in the microwave.

I went to the window and looked out, and felt there was something wrong. Through the window was a field or meadow, but, I don't know if it was the light or my eyes, but the field seemed to be moving. The land looked like there were waves going through it, almost like it was liquid.

I looked away and rubbed my eyes, this was not happening, but I looked out and it was getting worse the walls and buildings were joining in the flowing motion, and it was starting to make me feel sick and dizzy.

I held on to the wall.

The thing is, this was not like an earthquake. Buildings weren't falling down, there was no rumbling, no sound at it was just that the field was undulating like soapsuds after washing, spinning before they go down the drain.

The outside and inside were not going anywhere but I was feeling sicker than ever. The inside of the flat was still stable, I think, but my head was spinning and eventually, I did throw up.

I was going to ring somebody but my phone was in as much state of flux as the undulating field and buildings outside, so I just threw it to the floor.

I felt like I was going to die, I could not move and my brain felt it was being scrambled with a sonic whisk.

Things were getting darker and oblivion came .........

πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»

"Every bloody time"

"What happened?"

"He's done it again"

"What's he done?"

"He's just done a fvcking manual reset again, and you know what happens when he does that"

"He knows he should get us to do a system reset. The mess this is going to cause again. I am sick of having the clear up after him, again and again. Fvck me"

"I really feel like just walking out, we're not here to clear up after him. He really doesn't care about the consequences, and seriously, why does he keep doing it? He knows what happens when he does it and the mess that it causes for us"

"He never bloody listens, and I don't know if his memory is shot, surely he wouldn't do this if he remembered the consequences. Although the other side is that he always knows that us and the crew are here to clean up his mess"

"If he wants it doing he knows that he should ask us, but he never bloody does and leaves it in a total mess, God knows how it affects the humans, or rather he doesn't otherwaise he wouldn't do these manual resets. Earth is a complex and fragile computer and these resets could destroy the planet if not properly controlled.

"OK I've redone a controlled reset, everything should be back to normal in thirty minutes."

πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»β“πŸŒ»

I woke up, still had a banging head, looked out the window and everything looked OK. The undulation had stopped, but I still had my vomit to clean from the carpet.

It must have been something I ate or drank, but it was OK now.

SatireShort StorySci FiMysteryFantasyCONTENT WARNING
28

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Wow!!! Congrats on the T. S. too!!!

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    I think I'd take a little vomit if I could a system reset! What a trippy idea. Great story, Mike :) Congrats on Top Story for it!

  • Alexander McEvoy8 months ago

    That was really cool! The manual reset... hmmm... is the POV some kind of AI perhaps?

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Congratulations on top story Mike. Very interesting indeed

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I agree with Celia, I am not at all sure this doesn't happen a lot. I need a reset right now. What a maybe dream that was. Great red Mike.

  • Linda Rivenbark8 months ago

    Wow...this one is powerful! Sometimes the world feels like it has been reset...like it really needs to settle down again. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on your Top StoryπŸŽ‰βœŒοΈ

  • Test8 months ago

    This was on my, 'to reads' and then it got top story! Congratulations 🀍 I love the concept and I am not entirely convinced that this kind of thing doesn't happen often, though more likely Bill Gates than God IMHO 🀣

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Interesting story. Congrats on the TS.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    Cool entry!!!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Now to be, this reads like you got a migraine...

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Interesting. Truman Show-esque. I like the idea of a buffoon being in charge. It certainly would explain a lot, and then others picking up the pieces.

  • I'm a tad confused. So what happened was that God was doing a manual reset on the Earth? And then the angels did a controlled reset?

  • Interesting story with a great twist. The conversation about the reset was chilling!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Great story! I love the twist at the end.

  • This makes me think of "The Well World" series by Jack L. Chalker.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Enjoyed and glad it's all good lol! Great story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.