Fiction logo

The Bag - Girl, Disrupted

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 22nd 143/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
The Bag - Girl, Disrupted
Photo by Peter Forster on Unsplash

For those of you that are new here, this links to the following in order:

The Bag; Jason's Dilemma; The Girl; Jason and the girl; The Skewered Apple

You may want to visit those first for context.

*

Jason couldn't see me but I was there, on the bench, the guard watching. I only have so much influence over him. That's all I'm allowed and each time, it gets harder to pull off. It's a cruel game that my keeper is playing.

But I'm rooting for Jason. When I was taken, he was there. His memory of it will be faint but I'm hoping if I keep jogging it, he'll come to the rescue. The fact that he's now heading to "The Apple" is good.

He'll discover it's a sports' bar. Ha! Sports! That's a glossy term for what goes on there. You people, you love these games with balls and bats, but you have no idea of the continual game of pursuer and pursued that is being played around you. Nature points the way to the truth: the cat playing with the mouse; the orca flipping a seal into the air before devouring it; a fox in a henhouse.

Historically, it's been Man baiting creatures to fight. Bear baiting; cock fighting; dogs biting chunks from each other. But Man loves to abuse Man too. Think Romans - Christians, slaves, watching them battle each other to the death. For sport. Because they could and because they were different.

History repeats. Isn't that what they say? And here we are. The same theory applies. Pick on the ones who are different. Capture them, make them "lost". Give them parameters to work with but disrupt their gifts so that they are restricted. Sit back and watch the show. Threaten them with death if they don't comply. Or hurt those they love.

Before the Disruptors, I could have annihilated any threat. My knowledge of the world and how to harness the collective power of consciousness made me invincible.

The day Disruptors were created by him was a dark day for Perceptives like me.

The "good" guys.

He seeks us out as playthings. He's threatened but fascinated too. He's testing us with these trials.

I say "us": I may be the last.

Chances are I'll die but I'm not going to give up without a fight, just like all those before me.

I need you, Jason. My conduit.

***

366 words

So, Jason will go to "The Skewered Apple" but I've added an extra element to this now which is sort of based on Mark Gagnon's lead, although he suggested another dimension. I wonder what she means by "conduit". Is there something special about Jason? And who is the mysterious "he"?

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do drop a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

143/366

thrillerShort StorySeriesPsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • TheSpinstress11 days ago

    The first paragraph is utterly chilling. 'My keeper'. UGH. I can't wait to make my way through all these chapters.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    That conductor knows something.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Wow! How exciting! Felt like the water was gradually getting deeper and then we stepped into a sharp drop-off! Great work, Rachel!

  • I’m just along for the enjoyable ride today… keen for the next instalment 😁

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Jason has clearly seen something that he shouldn't have and then unseen them. The first question, who did the unseeing? Jason as a form of self-defense or the mysterious 'he?' Will he experience deja vu when he enters the Apple?

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Whoaaa, Disruptors, Perceptives, my head is spinning. Like what the hell is even going on? What did she get Jason into, lol

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    Intrigue levels ratcheted up to 11! Can’t wait to find out what happens next!

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Rd ~ Whew...What a 'tude and you tease me. A far cry from Mum's leftover Lasagna nukes; when time permits. But, that's what makes U'z so special..! - How HollyWeird - J-bud in.l.a.

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    You chose a good time to introduce your supervillain. It sounds like she isn't above reproach either. I'm interested to see how you developed things from here. Great story!

  • Katarzyna Popielabout a month ago

    Finally some clarification! Not that it explains much but at least some indistinct shapes now loom on the horizon. I wonder what Jason will manage to make of what he's been given so far...

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Ah, a game of astral chess! Now my interest is extra piqued. One concern, however, is that she mentions being invincible. "Absolute power corrupts absolutely." This is no damsel in distress, but someone caught up in something much bigger! If Jason can help her, will she still use her power for good, or will the wrath of vengeance transplant the spirit of justice? I will get the popcorn ready! Well-wrought!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.