Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Bag - Jason and the girl

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 18th 139/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished about a month ago 2 min read
The Bag - Jason and the girl
Photo by Vignesh Moorthy on Unsplash

This is a follow-on from The Bag, The Bag - Jason's Dilemma, and The Bag - The Girl. You may want to read those in order to have context for this.

*

I can't believe that she's standing there in front of me as I'm at the doors.

"Are you getting off, mate, or what?" A burly bloke barges past me and I don't blame him because I'm rooted.

She's looking right at me and I can see something in her face that I can't read. Hope? Anger? Is it both? I don't know. People are shuffling past me, tutting and tsking in that British way and I suddenly come out of my daze and step down onto the platform.

The crowds are receding and it's just me and her.

"How?" I say, meaning how can she have got there so quickly.

She shakes her head. I go to hand her the bag and she puts her hands up as if to say no. Why isn't she speaking?

"Why don't you want it? It's yours," I say, but her expression ripples with a myriad of different emotions, like she wants to explain but doesn't know where to start. It's like her tongue is under siege or she's frustrated during a game of Charades.

"I don't understand. When I saw you from the train, you looked like you'd forgotten it but now you don't want it back? And how did you get here so quickly?"

She gets excited or is it agitation? I don't have a fucking clue but this is getting weirder by the minute. Why doesn't she just fucking speak?

Who is she?

We're drawing attention to ourselves. I can see a guard at the end of the platform watching us as I gesticulate and hold the bag out. He's starting to walk over and I wave at him, which sort of halts him but I can see from his posture that he's wary.

"Come on. Let's sit on a bench," I say and she walks with me so we're facing the trains.

And then something weird happens. She's fading. Fucking fading! I swear! Right there in front of my eyes! And she's raising her hand to point towards the train.

"What?" I'm conscious my voice is raised.

We're looking at a train. It's leaving. It's gone.

Her arm is still raised. A poster.

The Skewered Apple.

***

366 words

The girl mentions "The Skewered Apple" in her story; it's a doodle in the notebook; and now, a clear sign. Things are pointing to "The Skewered Apple" but what is it?

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

SeriesthrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Grz Colm15 days ago

    Let’s go to the Skewered apple please. I assume the next part is not what I’m expecting though. ;)

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    nearly missed this one...

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Glad the doodle reappeared as a plot point! It was quite a curiosity! Like the supernatural element introduced!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Why is she fading? Is she a memory? A ghost? Waiting for the next part!

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    Next, please! Standing by…

  • I’m keen for another instalment but clueless about what happens next 🥺.

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    It's difficult to communicate from a different dimension. The skewered apple is the clue, follow the clues. I'm enjoying this.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! This was an excellent turn in the story. Perhaps it will cause him to recollect what happened, or even revisit the bar? I'm going about preparing for family this morning but had to take a minute to check in on how the adventure was coming along!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    As she fades her lips silently mouth Read. I think it’s more fun now if he plays detective and visits the Skewered Apple where it triggers a memory, perhaps, and he sits done with a pint or two to read the book for clues.

  • Katarzyna Popielabout a month ago

    I think the girl should try to say something! Can she do it? Maybe not but I'm sure something important will happen when she tries.

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.